The Roar
The Roar


How to watch the Big Bash League on New Year's Eve: Adelaide Strikers vs Sydney Thunder live stream, TV guide

Alex Carey of the Strikers.. (Photo by Albert Perez/Getty Images)
31st December, 2019

In what’s become something of a tradition, BBL action on New Year’s Eve takes place once more as the Adelaide Strikers host the Sydney Thunder at the Adelaide Oval. Here is The Roar’s guide to live streaming the match, or watching it on TV.

The match is set to get underway on Tuesday, December 31 at 7:10pm (AEDT), which is 6:40pm local time.

How to watch the match on TV

If you want to watch this game on TV, you have two options.

Fox Cricket is the first option, with their coverage beginning at 7pm (AEDT). While you need a valid Foxtel TV subscription to access Fox Cricket, their coverage is free of ads during the innings.

If you’re after a free-to-air option, you’re in luck, with Channel 7 also holdings the rights to broadcast this game. Their coverage also begins at 7pm (AEDT).

How to live stream the match online

Live streaming the Big Bash this season can be done in two ways.

The easiest way is through Kayo Sports, a service that gives you access to live streams of most Foxtel sporting content for just $25 a month. If you’re not already subscribed, you may be eligible for a free trial.


Otherwise, you can use Foxtel GO if you’re already a Foxtel subscriber, but can’t get to a TV for this one.

Unfortunately, 7Plus – Channel 7’s streaming service – does not have digital rights to cricket.

Key game information: Adelaide Strikers vs Sydney Thunder

First ball: 7:10pm (AEDT) – 6:40pm (local)
Venue: Adelaide Oval
TV: Live, Fox Cricket 501 and Channel 7
Online: Live, Kayo Sports, Foxtel GO
Betting: Strikers $1.69, Thunder $2.17


Adelaide Strikers
Travis Head (c), Wes Agar, Alex Carey (wk), Harry Conway, Rashid Khan (Afghanistan), Jake Lehmann, Michael Neser, Harry Nielsen, Liam O’Connor, Phil Salt (England), Matt Short, Peter Siddle, Billy Stanlake, Cameron Valente, Jake Weatherald, Jon Wells, Cameron White, Nick Winter

Sydney Thunder
Callum Ferguson (c), Jonathan Cook, Oliver Davies, Brendan Doggett, Matthew Gilkes, Chris Green, Alex Hales (England), Usman Khawaja, Jay Lenton, Nathan McAndrew, Chris Morris (South Africa), Arjun Nair, Alex Ross, Daniel Sams, Gurinder Sandhu, Jason Sangha, Tanveer Sangha, Chris Tremain