The Roar
The Roar


How to watch the Big Bash League on New Year's Day: Brisbane Heat vs Perth Scorchers live stream, TV guide

Mitch Marsh of the Scorchers. (Photo by Mike Owen/Getty Images)
1st January, 2020

If you’re looking to bring the new year in style – or maybe you’ve only just woken up after an ‘eventful’ evening the night before – there’s some New Year’s Day BBL to get stuck into as the Brisbane Heat clash with the Perth Scorchers at The Gabba. If you’re after a live stream, or want to watch the game on TV, you’re in the right place.

This game will get underway at 7:10pm (AEDT) (6:10pm local), so you should have plenty of time to down a Berocca and get down to the lounge room – or back to your own place – before it begins.

How to watch the match on TV

There are two ways to catch a TV broadcast of this game.

If you have a valid Foxtel TV subscription, you’ll definitely want to use Fox Cricket. Their coverage begins at 7pm (AEDT) and is free of ad-breaks during play.

If free-to-air is your only option, don’t fret – Channel 7 has you covered with live coverage of this match too. Like Fox Cricket, their coverage also begins at 7pm, but you’ll need to check local listings to confirm which specific 7 network (7 or 7Mate) the game is on in your area.

How to live stream the match online

If you’d rather catch a live stream of this game, here are your options.

The first and, arguably, best option is Kayo Sports. Kayo is a sports streaming service that lets you access most Foxtel sporting content on a desktop or mobile device. It costs $25 a month but, if you’re not subscribed, you may be able to access a free trial.


If you’re already a Foxtel subscriber, but can’t get to a TV, you can just use Foxtel GO to stream the match instead.

Key game information: Brisbane Heat vs Perth Scorchers

First ball: 7:10pm (AEDT) – 6:10pm (local)
Venue: The Gabba, Brisbane
TV: Live, Fox Cricket 501 and Channel 7
Online: Live, Kayo Sports, Foxtel GO
Betting: Heat $1.70, Scorchers $2.16


Brisbane Heat
Chris Lynn (c), Tom Banton (England), Max Bryant, Joe Burns, Ben Cutting, AB de Villiers (South Africa), Cameron Gannon, Sam Heazlett, Zahir Khan (Afghanistan – international replacement), Matt Kuhnemann, Marnus Labuschagne, Josh Lalor, Ben Laughlin, James Pattinson, Jimmy Peirson, Jack Prestwidge, Matt Renshaw, Mark Steketee, Mitch Swepson, Mujeeb Ur Rahman (Afghanistan)

Perth Scorchers
Mitchell Marsh (c), Ashton Agar, Fawad Ahmed, Cameron Bancroft, Jason Behrendorff, Cameron Green, Aaron Hardie, Nick Hobson, Josh Inglis, Chris Jordan (England), Matthew Kelly, Liam Livingstone (England), Joel Paris, Kurtis Patterson, Jhye Richardson, Ashton Turner, Andrew Tye, Sam Whiteman