The Roar
The Roar


Glenn Maxwell out of South Africa tour

Autoplay in... 6 (Cancel)
Up Next No more videos! Playlist is empty -
12th February, 2020
2980 Reads

Glenn Maxwell has been withdrawn from Australia’s upcoming limited overs tour of South Africa, with the star batsman requiring surgery on his left elbow.

Maxwell had originally been named to make his return to the international side for the first time since taking a mental health break, but will now miss to recuperate from the procedure. The injury is expected to keep him out for six to eight weeks, putting him in serious doubt for the upcoming home series with New Zealand too.

Interestingly, BBL leading runscorer Marcus Stoinis is not the replacement, with D’Arcy Short instead named to replace Maxwell in both squads.

According to a Cricket Australia statement, Maxwell had been managing elbow pain throughout BBL09 and it increased over the previous weekend. Following scans, loose bone fragments were found in the elbow – requiring surgery.

“We are disappointed to lose Glenn this close to the tour as we were looking forward to welcoming him back to the national side in both the 20- and 50-over formats after his break during the summer,” said national selector Trevor Hohns, who was bullish about Short’s opportunity to fill Maxwell’s shoes.

“An opportunity has now presented itself for D’Arcy and we’re confident he’ll make the most of whatever opportunities come his way in South Africa. Like Glenn, D’Arcy is an inventive, hard-hitting batsman who offers a handy spin-bowling option. We have no doubt he will make a positive contribution to the squad,” he said.

The limited overs tour begins on Saturday, February 22 (Australian time) with three T20s, before three ODIs see the tour wrap up on March 7.

Australian T20 squad

Aaron Finch (c), Sean Abbott, Ashton Agar, Alex Carey, Pat Cummins, Mitchell Marsh, Jhye Richardson, Kane Richardson, D’Arcy Short, Steve Smith, Mitchell Starc, Matthew Wade, David Warner, Adam Zampa


Australian ODI squad

Aaron Finch (c), Ashton Agar, Alex Carey, Pat Cummins, Josh Hazlewood, Marnus Labuschagne, Mitchell Marsh, Kane Richardson, D’Arcy Short, Steve Smith, Mitchell Starc, Matthew Wade, David Warner, Adam Zampa