The Roar
The Roar


AFL reveals State of Origin sides for charity match

Autoplay in... 6 (Cancel)
Up Next No more videos! Playlist is empty -
18th February, 2020
1947 Reads

Both Victoria and the All-Stars have revealed their squads for the upcoming State of Origin charity game, with the match set to take place at Marvel Stadium on Friday, February 28.

Every club has at least one representative – a requirement by the AFL – with last year’s grand finalists in Richmond and GWS having six players selected each.

Top-four finishers Brisbane and Collingwood are next best with five each, while, at the other end, Carlton, Essendon, Gold Coast and Melbourne only had one player selected each.

The AFL sent a list of eight players to each club that they wanted to select, with the clubs then confirming those lists or ruling particular players out with injury. The previously-announced three-player-per-club rule was mutually relaxed by the AFL and Players’ Association.

Victoria squad

Rory Sloane (ADE), Stefan Martin (BL), Darcy Moore (COL), Scott Pendlebury (COL), Steele Sidebottom (COL), Adam Saad (ESS), Mark Blicavs (GEE), Patrick Dangerfield (GEE), Jeremy Cameron (GWS), Toby Greene (GWS), Nick Haynes (GWS), Josh Kelly (GWS), Lachie Whitfield (GWS), James Sicily (HAW), Ben Cunnington (NM), Todd Goldstein (NM), Shaun Higgins (NM), Robbie Gray (PA), Trent Cotchin (RCH), Bachar Houli (RCH), Tom Lynch (RCH), Dustin Martin (RCH), Jade Gresham (STK), Jake Lloyd (SYD), Tom Papley (SYD), Marcus Bontempelli (WB), Jack Macrae (WB)

Coach: Damien Hardwick

All-Stars squad

Rory Laird (ADE), Brodie Smith (ADE), Taylor Walker (ADE), Harris Andrews (BL), Charlie Cameron (BL), Lachie Neale (BL), Dayne Zorko (BL), Patrick Cripps (CAR), Brodie Grundy (COL), Jeremy Howe (COL), Nat Fyfe (FRE), Michael Walters (FRE), Tom Hawkins (GEE), Zach Tuohy (GEE), Lachie Weller (GCS), Stephen Coniglio (GWS), Luke Breust (HAW), Isaac Smith (HAW), Neville Jetta (MEL), Scott Lycett (PA), Shane Edwards (RCH), Jack Riewoldt (RCH), Brad Hill (STK), Callum Mills (SYD), Brad Sheppard (WCE), Elliot Yeo (WCE), Jason Johannisen (WB)


Coach: John Longmire

In a live show on the AFL website, coaches Damien Hardwick (Victoria) and John Longmire (All-Stars) had already submitted their squads, with Matthew Lloyd and Ross Lyon predicting the best 27 – nine on the bench per side – for Victoria and the All-Stars, respectively.

Here’s what they came up with.


B: James Sicily, Mark Blicavs, Adam Saad
HB: Bachar Houli, Darcy Moore, Nick Haynes
C: Josh Kelly, Dustin Martin, Lachie Whitfield
HF: Shaun Higgins, Jeremy Cameron, Robbie Gray
F: Patrick Dangerfield, Tom Lynch, Toby Greene
FOL: Todd Goldstein, Marcus Bontempelli, Trent Cotchin
I/C: Rory Sloane, Scott Pendlebury, Side Sidebottom, Jack Macrae, Tom Papley, Ben Cunnington, Jake Lloyd, Jade Gresham, Stefan Martin


B: Brad Sheppard, Harris Andrews, Rory Laird
HB: Jason Johannisen, Jeremy Howe, Brodie Smith
C: Isaac Smith, Nat Fyfe, Brad Hill
HF: Shane Edwards, Jack Riewoldt, Luke Breust
F: Charlie Cameron, Tom Hawkins, Michael Walters
FOL: Brodie Grundy, Elliot Yeo, Dayne Zorko
I/C: Patrick Cripps, Stephen Coniglio, Lachie Neale, Neville Jetta, Zach Tuohy, Taylor Walker, Callum Mills, Lachie Weller Scott Lycett