The Roar
The Roar


When is the T20 World Cup? Women's World T20 start time, date, key information

Ellyse Perry and Australia are looking for World Cup glory. (Matt King/Getty Images)
20th February, 2020

The seventh ICC Women’s T20 World Cup will see ten top cricketing nations descend upon six venues in Australia for a two-week tournament.

The 2020 Women’s World T20 gets underway on Friday, February 21, with a blockbuster between Australia and India, and conclude with the final on Sunday, March 8.

The Southern Stars enter the tournament in strong form, having won the T20 tri-series against India and England. Australia’s women enter as the defending champions, while also having won four of the last five tournaments.

The ten sides have been divided into two groups of five, where they’ll play the other sides in their groups once. The top two teams from each group progress to the semi-finals, with the winners progressing to the final.

This year’s tournament will see the third umpire be responsible for calling front-foot no-balls, in a trial that could end up changing international cricket umpiring.


Group A
Australia, Bangladesh, India, New Zealand, Sri Lanka

Group B
England, Pakistan, South Africa, Thailand, West Indies

Australian fixtures


All times AEDT
Friday, February 21: vs India at Sydney Showground Stadium, 7:00pm
Monday, February 24: vs Sri Lanka at WACA Ground, Perth, 6:00pm
Thursday, February 27: vs Bangladesh at Manuka Oval, Caberra, 7:00pm
Monday, March 2: vs New Zealand at Junction Oval, Melbourne, 3:00pm
Thursday, March 5: First semi-final, SCG, 3:00pm
Thursday, March 5: Second semi-final, SCG, 7:00pm
Sunday, March 8: Grand final, MCG, 6:00pm


Six venues across four cities are in use for the Women’s’ World T20. Should the Southern Stars reach the final, they’ll play at all six. They’re guaranteed to play in each city regardless, however.

Junction Oval, Melbourne: Group stage
Manuka Oval, Canberra: Group stage
Sydney Showground Stadium: Group stage
WACA Ground, Perth: Group stage
Sydney Cricket Ground: Semi-finals
Melbourne Cricket Ground: Final

Broadcast information

The only way to watch every match of the Women’s World T20 online is through Fox Cricket (501).

They’ll have every match of the tournament live, with no ad-breaks during innings. However, you need a valid Foxtel TV subscription to access the channel.

As far as live streaming goes, Kayo Sports will have an identical broadcast plan. You’ll be able to stream every game – again, with no ad-breaks – on your preferred device for $25 a month. If you already have a Foxtel subscription, just use the Foxtel GO app.


If you can’t get access to Fox Cricket or Kayo, don’t fret. You’ll be able to watch all of Australia’s group stage matches – as well as all three finals – through Channel Nine’s sister network GEM.

At The Roar, we’ll have Australia’s games covered with live blogs, as well as having all the latest video, expert analysis, reaction and opinion on the site too.