The Roar
The Roar


AFL Rounds 14 to 18 confirmed with second fixture frenzy

Autoplay in... 6 (Cancel)
Up Next No more videos! Playlist is empty -
Roar Guru
14th August, 2020
1081 Reads

The remainder of the 2020 AFL season fixture has been announced, the governing body revealing the details of Rounds 14 to 18.

The first three rounds will be played in a Big Bash-style fixture for the second time this year, with action on 18 of the 19 days between August 27 and September 14.

Round 18’s match-ups have also been announced, with the AFL confirming that the final home and away round will be played over a regular Thursday-Sunday fixturing block. This will potentially allow for a pre-finals bye, a fixture that will surely be appreciated by the eight finals-bound teams. Specific times and matches for Round 18 are yet to be announced.

Western Australian fans hopeful of seeing their teams remain in Perth for the rest of the regular season will be disappointed, with Optus Stadium hosting its last match in Round 14, although finals may be played there later in the year.

Cairns will see significant footy action for the first time in several years with Fremantle, the Demons and Sydney all playing in the North Queensland city.

Hawthorn will join the two South Australian sides in being based in the state for much of the remainder of the year, although the club remains hopeful a Tasmanian fixture will be possible.

The Gabba – which remains a viable grand final location – will host eight matches during the fixture frenzy.

All teams who haven’t had a bye already will receive one through these rounds, with six different sides getting a rest in Round 15. Melbourne and Essendon will not receive a bye, and will instead play their postponed Round 3 fixture in the final round.