The Roar
The Roar


Port Adelaide and Geelong dominate All Australian squad of 40

Autoplay in... 6 (Cancel)
Up Next No more videos! Playlist is empty -
22nd September, 2020
1058 Reads

AFL pacesetters Port Adelaide and Geelong each have five nominations for the All Australian side, the most of any clubs.

The AFL has released the 40-man squad for the ceremonial team which will be announced on Thursday.

Table-toppers Port have ex-captain Travis Boak, Zak Butters, Darcy Byrne-Jones, Charlie Dixon and Tom Jonas in the squad.

Second-year utility Butters is among 24 players in contention for their first All Australian selection.

Geelong’s nominees are Patrick Dangerfield, who is in line for an eighth All Australian jumper, Mark Blicavs, Cam Guthrie, Tom Hawkins and Sam Menegola.

A batch of 10 players – Harris Andrews, Marcus Bontempelli, Dangerfield, Nat Fyfe, Max Gawn, Dylan Grimes, Hawkins, Jack Macrae, Lachie Neale and Scott Pendlebury – could earn selection in consecutive years.

Gold Coast, North Melbourne and wooden-spooners Adelaide are the only clubs without a nomination.

The 40-man squad:

Brisbane: Harris Andrews, Hugh McCluggage, Lachie Neale.


Carlton: Jacob Weitering.

Collingwood: Taylor Adams, Brayden Maynard, Darcy Moore, Scott Pendlebury.

Essendon: Jordan Ridley.

Fremantle: Nat Fyfe, Luke Ryan, Matt Taberner.

Geelong: Mark Blicavs, Patrick Dangerfield, Cam Guthrie, Tom Hawkins, Sam Menegola.

Greater Western Sydney: Nick Haynes.

Hawthorn: Jack Gunston.

Melbourne: Max Gawn, Clayton Oliver, Christian Petracca.


Port Adelaide: Travis Boak, Zak Butters, Darcy Byrne-Jones, Charlie Dixon, Tom Jonas.

Richmond: Dylan Grimes, Dustin Martin, Nick Vlastuin.

St Kilda: Dan Butler, Jack Steele.

Sydney: Tom Papley.

West Coast: Andrew Gaff, Nic Naitanui, Liam Ryan, Brad Sheppard.

Western Bulldogs: Marcus Bontempelli, Caleb Daniel, Jack Macrae.