The Roar
The Roar


Jordan Clark wins 2020 AFL grand final sprint

Autoplay in... 6 (Cancel)
Up Next No more videos! Playlist is empty -
24th October, 2020

Geelong fans will be hoping the grand final sprint result is an omen for the match itself, after Cat Jordan Clark won the 2020 sprint.

The 20-year-old edged past St Kilda winger Brad Hill in a tight race to take home the traditional grand final event.

» Follow the AFL grand final with our Tigers vs Cats live scores and blog

Unlike in previous years, the sprint was not held at the major break, owing to the first halftime entertainment show in the grand final. Instead, it took place at quarter-time, after the Cats and Richmond had played out a thrilling opening term which was marred by injuries to Nick Vlaustin (concussion) and Gary Ablett Jr (dislocated shoulder). Geelong went into the break with a 14-13 lead.

The 2020 grand final sprint was contested by Clark and Hill, as well as Brisbane’s Charlie Cameron, Adelaide’s Ben Keays, Geelong’s Jordan Clark, Gold Coast’s Ben Ainsworth, Collingwood’s Josh Thomas, Richmond’s Bigoa Nyuon and Port Adelaide’s Xavier Duursma.