The Roar
The Roar


REVEALED: The Roar's Wallabies team for Bledisloe 3

Autoplay in... 6 (Cancel)
Up Next No more videos! Playlist is empty -
26th October, 2020
5802 Reads

A few days ago The Roar asked you to vote for who Dave Rennie should pick in his Bledisloe 3 Wallabies team. The votes have been tallied up and here are the results.

Just a quick heads up, this poll was conducted before Isi Naisarani and Connal McInerney were added to the squad and that’s why they were not options.

Loosehead prop
At loosey, James Slipper was the overwhelming winner with 86 per cent of Roarers selecting him.

It seems Brandon Paenga-Amosa has done enough to guarantee his selection for Bledisloe 3 with 69 per cent of the vote.

Tighthead prop
Tighthead was extremely close and split between the choices of Taniela Tupou with 55 per cent and Allan Alaalatoa with 43 per cent.

The two preferred locks were Mat Philip with 91 per cent and Lukhan Salakaia-Loto with 86 per cent. The next closest was Trevor Hosea on 11 per cent.

Blindside flanker
Blindside flanker was very close with Liam Wright’s 28 per cent just nudging out Ned Hanigan’s 25 per cent.

Openside flanker
Unsurprisingly, the Wallabies captain Michael Hooper won the race for the number seven jersey with 79 per cent of the vote.

Michael Hooper of the Wallabies waits for a TMO decision

(Photo by Fiona Goodall/Getty Images)


Number eight
Harry Wilson got the nod to start again at the back of the scrum, having received 77 per cent of the vote.

Nic White won 73 per cent of the vote, although surprisingly, Tate McDermott was second with 20 per cent and Jake Gordon finished up last just slightly behind Joe Powell on 3 per cent.

While James O’Connor has been solid at number ten so far this international season, with Matt To’omua out injured, 58 per cent of Roarers picked Noah Lolesio at flyhalf…

Inside centre
… and opted instead to shift O’Connor out into the centres. His 49 per cent was enough to edge him past Irae Simone’s40.

Outside centre
At outside centre, it seems everyone’s seen enough to want Jordan Petaia back in a Wallabies starting jersey winning with an overwhelmingly 84 per cent.

At wing, the ‘bula brothers’, Filipo Daugunu and Marika Koroibete, were on top with 90 per cent and 69 per cent respectively. Next closest was Tom Wright with 26 per cent.

Filipo Daugunu of the Wallabies scores a try

(Photo by Kai Schwoerer/Getty Images)

Fullback was extremely close with Dane Haylett-Petty earning 41 per cent to edge out incumbent Tom Banks, who finished three per cent adrift.


Reserve loosehead prop
As a reserve loosey, Scott Sio won the majority with 72 per cent.

Reserve hooker
Jordan Uelese won with 50 per cent of the vote and second was Folau Fainga’a with 28 per cent.

Reserve tighthead prop
Reserve tighthead was again split between Allan Alaalatoa and Taniela Tupou with 51 per cent and 42 per cent respectively, the Brumby still preferred on the bench rather than for a starting role.

Remaining reserve forwards
Roarers clearly want a change to the reserve back-five forwards, with Trevor Hosea (45%) and Pete Samu (36%) the two most popular options despite not playing at Eden Park. Liam Wright and Ned Hanigan were the next-best, both receiving 30 per cent of the vote.

Reserve scrumhalf
According to the Roarers, Tate McDermott deserves a spot in the side on the bench, with the Reds scrumhalf picked in just over half of the teams.

Remaining reserve backs
The last two bench spots were clear-cut affairs: Reece Hodge’s versatility and booming boot helped him get 57 per cent of the vote, Hunter Paisami came in next with 35. No one else got more than 20, and Lolesio was the next-most popular pick despite earning plenty of starting votes.

That leaves the team you picked looking like this:

The Roar’s Wallabies team for Bledisloe 3


1. James Slipper
2. Brandon Paenga-Amosa
3. Taniela Tupou
4. Lukhan Salakaia-Loto
5. Matt Philip
6. Liam Wright
7. Michael Hooper
8. Harry Wilson
9. Nic White
10. Noah Lolesio
11. Marika Koroibete
12. James O’Connor
13. Jordan Petaia
14. Filipo Daugunu
15. Dane Haylett-Petty

16. Jordan Uelese
17. Scott Sio
18. Allan Alaalatoa
19. Trevor Hosea
20. Pete Samu
21. Tate McDermott
22. Hunter Paisami
23. Reece Hodge