The Roar
The Roar


Maroons make three team changes for Origin 3 as Blues go unchanged

Autoplay in... 6 (Cancel)
Up Next No more videos! Playlist is empty -
13th November, 2020
1507 Reads

Wayne Bennett has made three changes to his Queensland Maroons side for State of Origin 3 next week, while his Blues counterpart Brad Fittler has opted for the same 17 that won Game 2.

Winger Phillip Sami has been dropped for Corey Allan after a horror showing for the Maroons on Wednesday, while debutant Harry Grant comes onto the bench for Ben Hunt for his Origin debut and Christian Welch returns to the starting side. Dunamis Lui moves to the interchange to make way for Welch, and Moeaki Fotuaika drops out of the side entirely.

Both Cameron Munster and Josh Addo-Carr have been named to play despite being under injury clouds. Munster picked up a head knock early in Game 2 and played no further part in the match, while Addo-Carr was seen in a moon boot due to toe bruising.

With Allan named on the wing, there is some speculation Bennett could make further changes to his side still, moving the debutant to fullback and shifting Valentine Holmes out wide, where he has been spotted in training for the Maroons this week.

The only changes to the NSW squad have come on the reserves list, where Ryan Papenhuyzen, Jarome Luai and Nick Cotric have been named for the first time this series. Cameron McInnes is also on the extended bench.

Origin 3 teams

Queensland Maroons Number NSW Blues
Valentine Holmes 1 James Tedesco (c)
Xavier Coates 2 Daniel Tupou
Kurt Capewell 3 Clint Gutherson
Dane Gagai 4 Jack Wighton
Corey Allan 5 Josh Addo-Carr
Cameron Munster 6 Cody Walker
Daly Cherry-Evans (c) 7 Nathan Cleary
Christian Welch 8 Daniel Saifiti
Jake Friend 9 Damien Cook
Josh Papalii 10 Payne Haas
Felise Kaufusi 11 Angus Crichton
Jaydn Su’A 12 Tyson Frizell
Tino Faasuamaleaui 13 Jake Trbojevic
Harry Grant 14 Dale Finucane
Lindsay Collins 15 Nathan Brown
Jai Arrow 16 Junior Paulo
Dunamis Lui 17 Isaah Yeo
Ben Hunt 18 Ryan Papenhuyzen
Edrick Lee 19 Jarome Luai
Moeaki Fotuaika 20 Cameron McInnes
Brenko Lee 21 Nick Cotric