The Roar
The Roar


State of Origin 3 man of the series: Cameron Munster wins Wally Lewis medal

Autoplay in... 6 (Cancel)
Up Next No more videos! Playlist is empty -
18th November, 2020

Queensland five-eighth Cameron Munster has been named player of the series for the 2020 State of Origin series, after his masterful kicking game powered the Maroons to an upset series win.

The number six was the catalyst for their huge upset in Game 1, before his absence was sorely felt in Game 2 after he went off with a concussion in the second minute.

But he was back in the thick of it for the decider, having another blinder to deservedly be awarded the Wally Lewis medal despite only really playing two matches.

After amassing a whopping 490 kick metres in the first match, the Melbourne Storm five-eighth backed it up again with 422 metres in the decider – including a scintillating passage of play in the lead up to Edrick Lee’s try that saw him gather his own kick before kicking again.

Munster joins a very long list of Storm players to win Wally Lewis medal for Queensland, joining Cameron Smith (2007, 2011, 2013, 2016), Greg Inglis (2009) and Billy Slater (2010, 2018) as having taken out Origin’s top individual honour.