The Roar
The Roar



My predictions for the 2021 AFL season

Autoplay in... 6 (Cancel)
Up Next No more videos! Playlist is empty -
Roar Rookie
1st January, 2021
4994 Reads

With the calendar moving from 2020 to 2021, our attention now moves towards the 2021 AFL year.

To add to that, here is your complete guide to the 2021 season.

1. Geelong – they are an elite team with lots for star players.
2. Brisbane – they have the best forward, defence and midfield line-up.
3. Port Adelaide – their best is brilliant.
4. West Coast – they have an amazing line-up of players.
5. Richmond – they have created a dynasty and they are an unstoppable side.
6. St Kilda – they have young guns on the rise.
7. Melbourne – they nearly made the eight in 2020 and will have better luck in 2021.
8. Carlton – they are an up-and-coming side.
9. Western Bulldogs – they are another brilliant team with plenty of stars, but will drop off.
10. Fremantle – they are a young side that will move on from recent lost years and make the eight in 2022.
11. Collingwood – they lost some of their star players as their list is ageing.
12. Greater Western Sydney – they lost star players and talent.
13. Hawthorn – they may be rebuilding, but should have enough class to take them a few places up from 2020.
14. Gold Coast – more improvement is coming, and they will push for finals in 2022.
15. Adelaide – they are rebuilding but they still have a long way to go from making the eight again.
16. North Melbourne – they will continue to rebuild with a new coach, but will still avoid their first wooden spoon in nearly 50 years.
17. Essendon – they are rebuilding with a new coach.
18. Sydney – they will rise in 2022 and ’23.

Dustin Martin of the Tigers is tackled by Patrick Dangerfield of the Cats

(Photo by Quinn Rooney/Getty Images)

That means the finals would look like this. Below are my predictions.

Week 1
Qualifying final 1: Geelong (118) beat West Coast (62) at GMHBA Stadium
Qualifying final 2: Brisbane (80) beat Port Adelaide (73) at the Gabba
Elimination final 1: Carlton (83) beat Richmond (73) at the MCG
Elimination final 2: St Kilda (134) beat Melbourne (60) at the MCG


Week 2
Semi-final 1: Port Adelaide (92) beat St Kilda (80) at the Adelaide Oval
Semi-final 2: West Coast (105) beat Carlton (45) at Optus Stadium

Week 3
Preliminary final 1: Port Adelaide (97) beat Geelong (80) at the MCG
Preliminary final 2: Brisbane (102) beat West Coast (92) at the Gabba

Week 4
Grand final: Brisbane (79) beat Port Adelaide (70) at the MCG

This is who will win the major awards, too.

Brownlow Medal: Dustin Martin (Richmond)
Coleman Medal: Charlie Dixon (Port Adelaide)
Norm Smith Medal: Lachie Neale (Brisbane)
Rising Star Award: Hayden Young (Fremantle)