The Roar
The Roar


Super Rugby AU Round 9 teams: Swinton back for Tahs' trip to the west

Autoplay in... 6 (Cancel)
Up Next No more videos! Playlist is empty -
15th April, 2021
1705 Reads

The line-ups for Round 9 of Super Rugby AU have been announced.

The Waratahs welcome back Wallabies blindside flanker Lachie Swinton to their side for the trip to Perth to face the Force, while Tim Anstee, who scored last week’s game-winner against the Rebels, returns to the hosts’ starting XV.

As reported yesterday, Ben Donaldson has been named at flyhalf for the Tahs instead of Tane Edmed, after regular number ten Will Harrison was sidelined with a hamstring strain, and Sam Caird is the other addition to the NSW team.

Mark Nawaqanitawase and Michael Wood are the two other outs alongside Harrison.

In addition to promoting Anstee to the run-on side, Brynard Stander has also been pushed back into the Force XV. Byron Ralston is out after last week’s head knock, and Tomas Lezana picked up a foot injury against the Rebels which has him ruled out of Saturday’s game. Kieran Longbottom also misses out, with Greg Holmes, Jake Strachan and Grason Makara all coming into the matchday squad.

For Sunday’s clash between the Rebels and Brumbies in Melbourne, the hosts will be able to call on the services of Isi Naisarani after the big back-rower was named on an extended bench.

Campbell Magnay comes into the centres, pushing Lewis Holland back to the reserves, and with Dane Haylett-Petty still a week away from making his season debut, Tom Pincus has replaced the injured Reece Hodge at fullback.

Brumbies coach Dan McKellar has shuffled his side for the encounter with the Rebels, moving Ryan Lonergan into the number nine jersey and pushing Nic White to the bench, and naming a new-look back row of James Tucker at blindside flanker, Rory Scott at openside, and Rob Valetini at number eight.

Will Miller will make his first appearance for the side since announcing his return from retirement via the reserves, while Scott Sio will start in the front row with James Slipper to come off the bench. Bayley Kuenzle gets a crack at inside centre in place of Irae Simone.


Super Rugby AU Round 9 teams

Western Force vs NSW Waratahs

Saturday, 7:45pm (AEST), HBF Park
(1-15): Tom Robertson, Feleti Kaitu’u, Santiago Medrano, Jeremy Thrush, Sitaleki Timani, Tim Anstee, Kane Koteka, Brynard Stander, Tomas Cubelli, Domingo Miotti, Jordan Olowofela, Kyle Godwin (c), Tevita Kuridrani, Richard Kahui, Jack McGregor

Reserves: Andrew Ready, Angus Wagner, Greg Holmes, Ryan McCauley, Fergus Lee-Warner, Ian Prior, Grason Makara, Jake Strachan

In: Greg Holmes, Jake Strachan, Grason Makara

Out: Byron Ralston, Tomas Lezana, Kieran Longbottom

(1-15): Angus Bell, Dave Porecki, Harry Johnson-Holmes, Hugh Sinclair, Max Douglas, Lachlan Swinton, Carlo Tizzano, Will Harris, Jake Gordon (c), Ben Donaldson, James Ramm, Lalakai Foketi, Izaia Perese, Alex Newsome, Jack Maddocks

Reserves: Tom Horton, Te Tera Faulkner, Darcy Breen, Sam Caird, Jeremy Williams, Charlie Gamble, Jack Grant, Tane Edmed


In: Lachlan Swinton, Ben Donaldson, Sam Caird

Out: Michael Wood, Will Harrison, Mark Nawaqanitawase

Melbourne Rebels vs ACT Brumbies

Sunday, 2pm (AEST), AAMI Park
(1-15): Matt Gibbon, James Hanson, Pone Faamausili, Rob Leota, Trevor Hosea, Josh Kemeny, Richard Hardwick, Michael Wells, Joe Powell, Matt To’omua (c), Marika Koroibete, Campbell Magnay, Stacey Ili, Frank Lomani, Tom Pincus

Reserves: Jordan Uelese, Cabous Eloff, Cameron Orr, Lucio Sordoni, Ross Haylett-Petty, Isi Naisarani, Brad Wilkin, James Tuttle, Lewis Holland, Glen Vaihu (two to omit)

In: Isi Naisarani, Glen Vaihu, Campbell Magnay, Ross Haylett-Petty, Cameron Orr

Out: Jeral Skelton, Reece Hodge, Steve Cummins

(1-15): Scott Sio, Folau Fainga’a, Allan Alaalatoa, Darcy Swain, Cadeyrn Neville, James Tucker, Rory Scott, Rob Valetini, Ryan Lonergan, Noah Lolesio, Tom Wright, Bayley Kuenzle, Len Ikitau, Andy Muirhead, Tom Banks


Reserves: Lachlan Lonergan, James Slipper, Tom Ross, Nick Frost, Will Miller, Nic White, Reesjan Pasitoa, Mack Hansen

In: Tom Ross, Rory Scott, Reesjan Pasitoa, Will Miller

Out: Sefo Kautai, Pete Samu, Irae Simone, Tom Cusack