The Roar
The Roar


Aussies learn opponents for T20 World Cup

Autoplay in... 6 (Cancel)
Up Next No more videos! Playlist is empty -
16th July, 2021

Australia have been grouped with old rivals England, defending champions the West Indies and South Africa in this year’s Twenty20 World Cup in the UAE.

The groups have been revised based on the International Cricket Council’s rankings as of March 20.

India, Pakistan, New Zealand and Afghanistan are in the other group for the Super 12s stage, with two qualifiers to join each group.

Eight teams will contest the first round including automatic qualifiers Sri Lanka and Bangladesh with the remaining six who booked their spot through the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup Qualifier 2019.

Ireland, Netherlands and Namibia join Sri Lanka in Group A, while Oman, PNG and Scotland will face Bangladesh in Group B.

The venues for the T20 World Cup 2021 are Dubai International Stadium, the Sheikh Zayed Stadium in Abu Dhabi, the Sharjah Stadium, and the Oman Cricket Academy Ground.


ICC acting chief executive Geoff Allardice said: “We are delighted to announce the groups for the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2021.

“Given the disruption caused by COVID-19, we selected the cut-off date as close as possible to the event to ensure we were able to include the maximum amount of cricket in the rankings, which determine the groups.”