The Roar
The Roar


What time do the Kookaburras play Belgium in their Olympic men’s hockey final tonight?

(Photo by Getty Images)
5th August, 2021

In search of their second-ever gold medal in field hockey, the Australian Kookaburras come up against powerhouse Belgium tonight in an Olympics classic.

The Kookaburras have Andrew Charter to thank for a lot of their success during this Tokyo Olympics campaign, saving the Aussie’s bacon in the quarter-final and pulling off five crucial saves against Germany last game.

But standing in the Australian’s path is leading goal scorer Alexander Hendrickx who has netted 14 throughout the tournament. Runners up in Rio, Belgium will be eager to go one better this time around in the final.

What time are the Kookaburras playing tonight?
Kookaburras vs Belgium will begin at 8pm AEST, which is 7pm local time in Tokyo. If you’re watching from the Western side of Australia, the Aussies will get underway at 6pm AWST.

How to watch the Australian Kookaburras vs Belgium?
Channel 7 and 7plus hold the exclusive rights to the Tokyo Olympics and are the only places you can legally watch the Games.

Channel 7 will likely show the Kookaburras on their main free-to-air channel, which is channel 70 in metro areas. However, given the broadcaster is prone to switching between events mid-coverage, you might have to flick over to 7mate at some point, which is channel 73 in metro areas.

If you’d prefer to have more control, you can live stream the Kookaburras vs Belgium match online through 7plus for free. 7plus have an app for Android and Mac devices, available through the relevant app store for download. Though, you can also access 7plus directly through your web browser.

Most smart TVs and gaming consoles also allow you to reach the Olympic streaming service by searching for 7plus from the main application page. In addition, you can stream the Australian Kookaburras in action on your TV via casting devices such as Chromecast.

Game information


Start time: 8pm (AEST)
Venue: Oi Hockey Stadium, Shinagawa City
TV: Channel Seven
Online: 7plus


Daniel Beale, Joshua Beltz, Tim Brand, Andrew Charter, Thomas Craig, Matthew Dawson, Blake Govers, Jeremy Hayward, Tim Howard, Dylan Martin, Trent Mitton, Edward Ockenden, Flynn Ogilvie, Lachlan Sharp, Joshua Simmonds, Jacob Whetton, Tom Wickham, Aran Zalewski

Florent van Aubel, Gauthier Boccard, Tom Boon, Thomas Briels, Cedric Charlier, Felix Denayer, Sebastien Dockier, John-John Dohmen, Arthur van Doren, Simon Gouugnard, Alexander Hendrickx, Nicolas de Kerpel, Antoine Kina, Loick Luypaert, Augustin Meurmans, Arthur de Sloover, Vincent Vanasch, Victor Wegnez