The Roar
The Roar


Three Wallabies nominated for World Rugby's player of the year awards

Autoplay in... 6 (Cancel)
Up Next No more videos! Playlist is empty -
15th November, 2021
5445 Reads

Wallabies captain Michael Hooper and centre Samu Kerevi have been nominated for World Rugby’s player of the year while Andrew Kellaway is nominated for the breakthrough player of the year.

In a further sign of what the team achieved in the 2021 Rugby Championship, Dave Rennie has been nominated for coach of the year.

No Australian payer has ever won the Men’s 15 player of the year award in the two decades the gong has been handed out.

Michael Hooper who became Australia’s most-capped captain in September has been a force for his side. He’s consistently achieved above 7 ratings voted on by Roar readers for matches played this year.

Kerevi has been equally impressive on his return to the Wallabies midfield and was a big part of Australia-s five-match winning streak.

The two Aussies are up against scrum-half Antoine Dupont from France and Maro Itoje (England/British and Irish Lions). The winner will be decided by a fan vote with voting opened from now until early December. You’ll also be able to vote on the women’s player of the year and the men’s and women’s try of the year

“The World Rugby Awards are the ultimate accolade for rugby, and we are delighted to honour the outstanding players and individuals who have made an impact on our game on and off the field in 2021,” World Rugby Chairman Sir Bill Beaumont said

“The pandemic and its consequences have restricted several unions from playing international games this year and we recognise that not all rugby stars have had a chance to shine. Nevertheless, the World Rugby Awards Panel has done an amazing job in selecting suitable candidates in each category and I would like to congratulate all nominees who, deservingly, have been shortlisted for this year’s awards.”

World Rugby Award Nominations


World Rugby Men’s 15s Player of the Year (fan vote)
Antoine Dupont (France)
Michael Hooper (Australia)
Maro Itoje (England/British and Irish Lions)
Samu Kerevi (Australia)

Antoine Dupont of France performs a box-kick

Antoine Dupont (Photo by Stu Forster/Getty Images)

World Rugby Women’s 15s Player of the Year (fan vote)
Zoe Aldcroft (England)
Caroline Boujard (France)
Laure Sansus (France)
Poppy Cleall (England)

World Rugby Breakthrough Player of the Year (panel vote)
Will Jordan (New Zealand)
Andrew Kellaway (Australia)
Louis Rees-Zammit (Wales)
Marcus Smith (England)

World Rugby Coach of the Year (panel vote)
Allan Bunting/Cory Sweeney (New Zealand Women’s Sevens)
Ian Foster (New Zealand Men)
Simon Middleton (England Women)
Dave Rennie (Australia Men)

World Rugby Men’s Sevens Player of the Year (fan vote)
Napolioni Bolaca (Fiji)
Scott Curry (New Zealand)
Marcos Moneta (Argentina)
Jiuta Wainiqolo (Fiji)

World Rugby Women’s Sevens Player of the Year (fan vote)
Anne-Cécile Ciofani (France)
Sarah Hirini (New Zealand)
Alowesi Nakoci (Fiji)
Reapi Ulunisau (Fiji)

International Rugby Players Men’s Try of the Year (fan vote)
Lukhanyo Am (South Africa, v British and Irish Lions on 31 July)
Pierre-Louis Barassi (France, v Australia on 17 July)
Luke Jacobson (New Zealand, v Argentina on 12 September)
Damian Penaud (France, v Scotland on 26 March)


Sports opinion delivered daily 


International Rugby Players Women’s Try of the Year (fan vote)
Sara Barattin (Italy, v Scotland on 13 September)
Emilie Boulard (France, v Wales on 3 April)
Abby Dow (England, v France on 24 April)
Romane Ménager (France, v Ireland on 17 April)