The Roar
The Roar


Two Wallabies in World Rugby 'Dream Team' dominated by Springboks

Autoplay in... 6 (Cancel)
Up Next No more videos! Playlist is empty -
8th December, 2021
4606 Reads

Wallabies captain Michael Hooper and teammate Samu Kerevi have been named in the World Rugby dream team of 2021.


Players from seven nations – Australia, England, France, Ireland, New Zealand, Scotland and South Africa – won a place in the team decided by a World Rugby panel and named on Wednesday.

All four of ther men’s player of the year nominees, which inlcludes the two Wallabies along with Frenchman Antoine Dpont and Maro Itoje of England.

The players selected boast a combined 850 caps for their countries with the world champion Springboks having the most representatives with five, followed by New Zealand with three.

“To contribute a third of the World Rugby Dream Team not only underlines how good the Springboks performed in a very difficult season, but also how our individual players rose to the occasion – and this is true for more than just these five,” said SA Rugby president Mark Alexander.

“It’s certainly a well-deserved accolade in what was an important season for the national team following a long absence from international rugby due to the COVID-19 pandemic.

“The competition for this award was tough, and for a handful of our players to be in the mix in a year in which they finished the season as the top team in the world makes this an even more notable achievement.

“A sincere congratulations to Siya, Eben, Malcolm, Lukhanyo and Makazole for this significant recognition.”


Springbok head coach Jacques Nienaber added: “The entire Springbok team and coaching staff are delighted for the players.

“It is a fantastic achievement, and it shows the class and skill level of the players we have within our squad and in the country. We all share in their excitement.”

France and England dominated the women’s Dream Team while no Australians made the side – unsurprising considering their dearth of opportunities.

Six nations are represented in the women’s selection with Canada, Italy, New Zealand and Wales each providing one player. France provides six players, one more than England with all four Women’s 15s Player of the Year nominees making the cut.

The Dream Teams
1. Wyn Jones (Wales) 2. Malcolm Marx (South Africa) 3. Tadhg Furlong (Ireland) 4. Maro Itoje (England) 5. Eben Etzebeth (South Africa) 6. Siya Kolisi (South Africa) 7. Michael Hooper (Australia) 8. Ardie Savea (New Zealand) 9. Antoine Dupont (France) 10. Beauden Barrett (New Zealand) 11. Makazole Mapimpi (South Africa) 12. Samu Kerevi (Australia) 13. Lukhanyo Am (South Africa) 14. Will Jordan (New Zealand) 15. Stuart Hogg (Scotland)

1. Annaëlle Deshayes (France) 2. Agathe Sochat (France) 3. Sarah Bern (England) 4. Safi N’Diaye (France) 5. Abbie Ward (England) 6. Zoe Aldcroft (England) 7. Karen Paquin (Canada) 8. Poppy Cleall (England) 9. Laure Sansus (France) 10. Caroline Drouin (France) 11. Abby Dow (England) 12. Beatrice Rigoni (Italy) 13. Stacey Fluhler (New Zealand) 14. Caroline Boujard (France) 15. Jasmine Joyce (Wales).