The Roar
The Roar


All Blacks team: One debutant named, Christie at No.9, Jordie at fullback

Autoplay in... 6 (Cancel)
Up Next No more videos! Playlist is empty -
11th November, 2022
1370 Reads

Winger Mark Telea has been selected to make his first Test appearance in the All Blacks’ Test against Scotland on Sunday.

Four months after initially being called up as COVID cover during the series against Ireland, Telea was brought into this tour as injury cover. He will become All Black number 1207.

Coach Ian Foster retained 16 from the match day 23 that played in last week’s win against Wales but has changed some combinations.

Halfback Finlay Christie will wear the number nine jersey for the third time. He will mark the special occasion at a ground which is an hour north of the region where he was born and raised until the age of seven.

Beauden Barrett will play at No.10 with Stephen Perofeta on the bench.

Midfielders David Havili and Anton Lienert-Brown will feature in the run-on side after being used in tandem as reserves during the last two Tests. Their inclusion sees Jordie Barrett revert to fullback.

In the forward pack, Samisoni Taukei’aho has been brought into the run-on side at hooker, Nepo Laulala at tighthead prop and Akira Ioane at blindside flanker. The new faces in the reserves are loosehead prop George Bower, halfback TJ Perenara and Perofeta.

“We’ve selected a team that excites us this week,” said Foster. “In many ways this Test is crucial for our tour as a whole and it’s a chance to show how we’re building as a group.

“Rememberance Day will make the occasion even more special. I think it’s important for us to honour our veterans for what they do for us.”


All Blacks

1. Ethan de Groot (11)
2. Samisoni Taukei’aho (19)
3. Nepo Laulala (43)
4. Samuel Whitelock (141 – Captain)
5. Scott Barrett (56)
6. Akira Ioane (20)
7. Dalton Papali’i (20)
8. Ardie Savea (68)
9. Finlay Christie (13)
10. Beauden Barrett (110)
11. Caleb Clarke (13)
12. David Havili (23)
13. Anton Lienert-Brown (58)
14. Mark Telea (*)
15. Jordie Barrett (46)

16. Codie Taylor (74)
17. George Bower (20)
18. Fletcher Newell (5)
19. Tupou Vaa’i (17)
20. Shannon Frizell (23)
21. TJ Perenara (78)
22. Stephen Perofeta (2)
23. Rieko Ioane (57)