The Roar
The Roar


Big name absentee and some surprise selections for Joeys' training camp ahead of Asian Cup

Autoplay in... 6 (Cancel)
Up Next No more videos! Playlist is empty -
Roar Guru
11th April, 2023

With June’s AFC U-17 Asian Cup tournament fast approaching, Joeys coach Brad Maloney has assembled a 30 man squad for a week’s camp in Sydney – in preparation for the prestigious youth tournament.
The Joeys qualified for the tournament after winning their group stage in Victoria late last year.

Tajikistan, Saudi Arabia, and China PR will be the Joeys  opponents in Group C for the tournament in Bangkok and Chonburi from June 15 – July 2, 2023.

The big exclusion is Adelaide United super sub Nestory Irankunda, with his club side not being required to release him – as this camp falls outside of an official FIFA international window.

Nestory Irankunda

Nestory Irankunda (Photo by Graham Denholm/Getty Images)

Coach Maloney has called up several interesting players for the first time, since he has been in charge of the under 17s.

Looking to force his way into selection for the tournament, will be yet another promising Adelaide United attacker – Nathan Amantidis.

Former comets junior Amantidis had a deal in place to sign for Grimsby Town in England at the start of the season – only to turn his back on the lower league side and sign for Adelaide United.

Amantidis can play across the front third and his set piece ability and coolness in front of goals has been a highlight for the SA NPL side this season.


Besides Fabian Talladira who is the son of Adelaide City legend Carlo, this squad also contains the son of another famous player – Jade North.

North’s son Zane, has progressed nicely through the youth ranks at Brisbane Roar and is well on the way to following in his famous father’s footsteps.

Promising Western United Forward Christian Derementzoglou has been called up for his first ever national team camp – This is also the sides first ever player from their initial youth team group selected for national team duty.

Derementzoglou has deserved his call up after a strong start to the season – scoring 7 goals for the under 18’s and has been training with the sides U 21’s team.

Sydney FC’s contingent is highlighted by a certain, Tiago Quintal.

Quintal had trialled with Lyon in France in 2022 and is yet another convert from fustal – the attacking midfield maestro has some of the best technical skills in the nation, when it comes to his position.

Junior Conde is a player many within the Wanderers academy have high hopes for, the tricky speedster was one of the players of the tournament for the champions of NSW at last year’s national youth championships.


 Conde’s ex-team mate Anthony Pavelesic who trialled with European glamour club Bayern Munich earlier this season – has recently moved to the Central Coast Mariners, in the next stage of his development.

Melbourne Victory have long been accused of not playing young players, but they have a solid representation in this squad – highlighted by Rushonn Tafunai.

Tafunai’s ability to dribble at high speeds with the ball has also attracted interest from another country he qualifies for through ancestry – Samoa.

Maloney’s 30-man squad sees almost all Australian A league clubs represented – with the glaring exception of the Newcastle Jets.

The Hunter region has a long-heralded tradition within the sport, but will yet again alarmingly have no players in a national team squad.


Nathan AMANATIDIS (Adelaide United FC)
Peter ANTONIOU (Melbourne City FC)
Daniel BENNIE (Perth Glory FC)
Rylan BROWNLIE (Olympic FC)
Nikolas CEVIZOVIC (Melbourne Victory FC)
Junior CONDE (Western Sydney Wanderers FC)
Robert COOK (Perth Glory FC)
Zachary DE JESUS (Sydney FC)
Arthur DE LIMA (Brisbane Roar FC)
Christian DERMENTZOGLOU (Western United FC)
Miguel DI PIZIO (Central Coast Mariners FC)
Mitchell GLASSON (Sydney FC)
Aden GREEN (Western Sydney Wanderers FC)
Ayman GULASI (Macarthur FC)
Lucas HERRINGTON (Brisbane Roar FC)
Jordan HOEY (Melbourne Victory FC)
Edward INCE (Brisbane Roar FC)
Pearson KASAWAYA (Sydney FC)
Andriano LEBIB (Perth Glory FC)
Zane NORTH (Brisbane Roar FC)
Bailey O’NEIL (Adelaide United FC)
Anthony PAVLESIC (Central Coast Mariners FC)
Jaylan PEARMAN (Perth Glory FC)
Dylan PERAIC-CULLEN (Central Coast Mariners FC)
Sotiri PHILLIS (Adelaide United FC)
Tiago QUINTAL (Sydney FC)
Corey SUTHERLAND (Perth Glory FC)
Rushonn TAFUNAI (Melbourne Victory FC)
Fabian TALLADIRA (Adelaide United FC)