The Roar
The Roar


Lachie Neale wins Brownlow in a canter: Every vote

Autoplay in... 6 (Cancel)
Up Next No more videos! Playlist is empty -
3 days ago


Player Votes
Lachie Neale 31
Travis Boak 21
Christian Petracca 18
Jack Steele 18

Show Preview

The 2020 Brownlow Medal was won by Lachie Neale, who collected 31 votes to finish ten ahead of Travis Boak in second.

Preview follows

Brisbane’s Lachie Neale enters tonight’s count as the hot favourite to pick up the medal for the first time. He’s had an outstanding 2020 – his second season with the club – and looks head and shoulders above the rest of the pack coming into this evening.

Recent winners Nat Fyfe and Tom Mitchell will struggle to get close, although there has been some support around some other potential first-time winners.

Former Port Adelaide captain Travis Boak is considered the next-most likely after his stunning renaissance this season, but does risk losing votes to teammates Ollie Wines, Tom Rockliff, Robbie Gray and even Charlie Dixon.

Melbourne midfielder Christian Petracca is also considered a chance. He broke out in a big way this season and barely had a bad game, but an inconsistent year by the Demons will probably see him lose votes to players on victorious sides a bit too often.

Patrick Dangerfield, Dustin Martin and Jack Steele are the other players who’ve had serious money put on them, but they probably haven’t quite had the seasons capable of taking out the medal.

As always, the mark of the year and goal of the year honours are also awarded this evening.

It’d be a brave man to bet against Lachie Neale tonight and I’m erring on the side of caution.


I’m predicting Ian Hill of Greater Western Sydney to take mark of the year ahead of Charlie Cameron and Sam Walsh, while Josh Daicos is my pick for goal of the year ahead of Jack Newnes and Patrick Cripps.

Join The Roar as we take you through each and every vote, starting from 7pm (AEDT).

Hide Preview