The Roar
The Roar


Port Adelaide Power vs Sydney Swans: AFL live scores, blog

18th June, 2022
Live Comments

Port Adelaide


Match Complete

Sydney Swans


POR82 : 59SYD

Autoplay in... 6 (Cancel)
Up Next No more videos! Playlist is empty -
18th June, 2022
1256 Reads

Port Adelaide


Match Complete

Sydney Swans


Fourth Quarter
14:14I. Heeney
11:52O. Florent
X. Duursma10:42
K. Farrell4:14
2:40I. Heeney
29:31T. Papley
28:09P. Ladhams
R. Bonner16:38
C. Dixon12:50
R. Burton10:53
S. Powell-Pepper8:58
C. Dixon8:11
T. Marshall5:42
L. Jones3:27
C. Dixon0:18
M. Georgiades30:10
28:40L. Parker
K. Amon27:31
26:21L. Parker
24:54T. Papley
23:54L. Franklin
T. Marshall21:50
19:19L. McDonald
17:14L. Franklin
D. Houston12:56
10:53I. Heeney
T. Marshall6:27
2:26W. Hayward
T. Marshall29:25
C. Rozee26:51
T. Marshall25:02
C. Dixon24:17
Z. Butters19:35
18:13C. Mills
11:46I. Heeney
6:46L. Franklin
4:55L. Franklin
T. Marshall3:48

Show Preview

It’s almost last-chance saloon time for Port Adelaide as they host a buoyant Sydney fresh off their bye needing a win to keep their finals hopes alive. Join The Roar for live scores and rolling coverage from 1:45pm (AEST).

After recovering from a 0-5 start to their season that saw many question the future of Ken Hinkley at the helm of the Power, things have somewhat flatlined over the last few weeks, with losses to Richmond and Geelong adding real perspective to where the team is actually at.

Currently three wins outside the eight, today is simply a must-win for Port; but it won’t be easy, with their opposition continuing to prove itself as a worthy competitor on a week-to-week basis.

There have been some poor moments for the Swans across the current season, and certainly a series of slow starts to matches; yet not once have they been belted, and wins against Melbourne and Richmond in recent weeks have only confirmed a pre-season belief that Sydney are set to contend for the top four in 2022.

Team news sees the Power lose Robbie Gray and Travis Boak to injury and health and safety protocols respectively, whilst they also welcome back Mitch Georgiades into a squad that desperately needs his skill and class in the front half.


Sydney’s squad is a settled one, with the big inclusion of Lance Franklin certain to fuel many headlines and the only significant change to the squad that did the job against the Demons a fortnight ago.

The desperation of Port and Sydney’s need for a win to keep them in the hunt for a top-four spot could see something special play out at Adelaide Oval this afternoon. Even if Port do manage to jump the Swans early, as many have done before them, John Longmire’s team will be coming home strongly and with a wave of fitness and determination that appears to be catching many teams by surprise late in matches.


Whilst many still believe that Port Adelaide are in fact a good team and one destined to find their way towards the fringes of the eight by season’s end, picking them in this match would be disrespectful to the Swans. They’re a team rediscovering its form after a mid-season slump where Brisbane, Carlton and Gold Coast exposed a few weaknesses.


Ever since, it has been brilliant from the Swans and they should have the depth across the park to account for the Power today.

Sydney by 19 points.

Game information

Opening bounce: 1:45pm (AEST)
Venue: Adelaide Oval
TV: Fox Footy
Live streamKayo Sports, Foxtel Now, Foxtel Go
Betting: Power $2.20, Swans $1.67 (odds via PlayUp)


Port Adelaide

B: T. Jonas (c), A. Aliir, D. Houston

HB: R. Burton, T. Clurey, D .Byrne-Jones

C: K. Amon, W. Drew, K. Farrell


HF: Z. Butters, T. Marshall, C. Rozee

F: J. Finlayson, C. Dixon, S. Powell-Pepper

FOLL: B. Teakle, O. Wines, J. Mead

I/C: M. Georgiades, R. Bonner, L. Jones, M. Frederick


EMG: X. Duursma, S. Mayes, J. Burgoyne, T. Schofield

IN: Teakle, Mead, Georgiades, Frederick (R13 medi-sub)

OUT: Gray, Motlop, Boak, Dumont


B: P. McCartin, T. McCartin, J. McInerney

HB: O. Florent, D. Rampe (c), J. Lloyd

C: H. Cunningham, L. Parker (c), N. Blakey

HF: C. Warner, S. Reid, W. Hayward

F: T. Papley, L. Franklin, L. McDonald

FOLL: P. Ladhams, C. Mills (c), I. Heeney

I/C: J. Rowbottom, S. Wicks, E. Gulden, C. O’Riordan

EMG: D. Stephens, B. Campbell, J. Amartey, R. Fox

IN: Cunningham, Franklin

OUT: Amartey, Fox

Hide Preview