The Roar
The Roar

ClarkeG

Roar Guru

Joined February 2013

8.6k

Views

5

Published

1.2k

Comments

Published

Comments

A forward pass is not a penalisable infringement because generally it’s accidental. An intentional forward pass of course is penalisable just like the intentional knock on.

Only very rarely do I see forward passes that you could classify as intentional. Mostly I would say its a case of poor execution of the pass so can’t agree that it’s as deliberate as an intentional knock on.

The All Blacks' dominance comes to an end

You either have the law or your don’t. If you don’t then there would need to be an adjustment. Why would you leave it to interpretation Piru.

Presently we have a law that it is a penalisable offence to intentionally knock the ball forward. That has to be removed from law. The sanction then for any knock on would be a scrum.

The All Blacks' dominance comes to an end

Yes I know you meant that Gloria. I was being facetious. :silly:

All Black to the future at Eden Park

Generally when the referee calls the scrum there is a committee meeting between the front row clubs and a brief coaching session from the referee before they show any interest in forming a scrum.

All Black to the future at Eden Park

Good oh Graeme :thumbup:

All Black to the future at Eden Park

Well I don’t see it as an odd law. I think it’s a necessary law.

Yes you could easily fix it by just amending the law but then there will unintended consequences in my opinion.

The All Blacks' dominance comes to an end

As I often say to people…you can learn a lot from me…listen to what I say and be sure to do the opposite. :laughing:

2007 was the last time I picked the Melbourne Cup winner…but I’ll try my best.

All Black to the future at Eden Park

How many are there? …Gods I mean…not helicopters. :silly:

All Black to the future at Eden Park

But to be fair, Koroibete has already knocked the ball on so it’s his turnover.

All Black to the future at Eden Park

Yes it is illegal to unbind from a scrum.

I’m not sure if what Savea did is legal or not but Ben is correct in saying he changed before the ball was fed to the scrum.

From the laws:-

“All players’ binding is maintained for the duration of the scrum”
“The scrum begins when the ball leaves the hands of the scrum-half.”

All Black to the future at Eden Park

God would tell you they are laws not rules. :silly:

All Black to the future at Eden Park

Yeah but to be fair lots of referees illustrate this as well. :silly:

All Black to the future at Eden Park

Unless there has been a law adjustment/interpretation that has slipped through recently, then it has never been that the ball is required to reach the 10m line on the full.

“or if an opponent plays the ball before it reaches the 10-metre line, play continues.”

All Black to the future at Eden Park

Don’t you hate it when that happens….when you find out you’ve been wrong for four decades. :laughing:

All Black to the future at Eden Park

“All defence is negative play though” …interesting point of view Piru.

Any play that involves intentional breaking of the laws is negative and that’s why it’s penalisable.

The All Blacks' dominance comes to an end

Attempting to spoil a pass is defending. You are allowed to spoil a pass. Like everything else though, you’re required to do it without intentionally committing a penalisable infringement.

The All Blacks' dominance comes to an end

But I didn’t say he did. I was simply commenting on the law.

The All Blacks' dominance comes to an end

Maybe…but he was YCd was he not.

But that’s an interesting link – not! – you’ve created there between what Coles did and the law regards intentional knock on.

The All Blacks' dominance comes to an end

Yeah but none of that excuses a defender intentionally committing an infringement.

The All Blacks' dominance comes to an end

Okkk

The Wrap: Normal order restored in Bledisloe Cup whitewash

As Grizz Wyllie would say, good on ya.

Here’s some friendly NZ- Welsh banter for fun.

“appreciate your input” – Thanks …not everyone does. Someone told me once…when we want your opinion we will tell you what it should be. :laughing:

The Wrap: Normal order restored in Bledisloe Cup whitewash

Good luck with that.

The Wrap: Normal order restored in Bledisloe Cup whitewash

Hansen of course has race horses so possibly Connor might have got a little muddled there?

The Wrap: Normal order restored in Bledisloe Cup whitewash

Aye

The Wrap: Normal order restored in Bledisloe Cup whitewash

You see I could misconstrue that as you being angry at me being serious. :laughing:

The Wrap: Normal order restored in Bledisloe Cup whitewash