The Roar
The Roar


Big Bash ladder and standings 2020-21

Jordan Silk and James Vince (Photo by Chris Hyde/Getty Images)

Here, you can see The Roar’s complete 2020-21 Big Bash ladder. The season ran from December 10 and ended with the final on February 6, 2021 – won by the Sydney Sixers.

The competition ran with a full home-and-away season, with each team playing 14 games.

The BBL finals series was as follows.

The Eliminator: (Fourth v Fifth)
The Qualifier: (First v Second)
The Knock-Out: (Third v Winner of The Eliminator)
The Challenger: (Loser of The Qualifier v Winner of The Knock-Out)
The Final: (Winner of The Qualifier v Winner of The Challenger)

The way the ladder works hasn’t changed though, with teams given two points for a win and one for a tie or no result match.

In the case of a number of teams finishing on the same number of points, net run rate is used as a tiebreaker to separate the sides. Unlike the basic ‘for and against’ used in so many other sports, net run rate is a slightly more complex beast. Put simply, net run rate is the sum of a team’s average runs scored per over minus the team’s average runs conceded per over.

2020-21 Big Bash ladder

Pos. Team W L T/NR NRR Points
1st Sydney Sixers 9 5 0 +0.257 36
2nd Perth Scorchers 8 5 1 +0.851 32
3rd Sydney Thunder 8 6 0 +0.949 31
4th Brisbane Heat 7 7 0 -0.286 29
5th Adelaide Strikers 7 7 0 +0.105 28
6th Hobart Hurricanes 7 7 0 -0.187 28
7th Melbourne Stars 5 8 1 +0.140 24
8th Melbourne Renegades 4 10 0 -1.727 16

Big Bash history
The Sydney Sixers are defending champions after they defeated the Melbourne Stars at the SCG in the 2019-20 decider.

Season Champion
BBL|01 (2011-12) Sydney Sixers (1)
BBL|02 (2012-13) Brisbane Heat (1)
BBL|03 (2013-14) Perth Scorchers (1)
BBL|04 (2014-15) Perth Scorchers (2)
BBL|05 (2015-16) Sydney Thunder (1)
BBL|06 (2016-17) Perth Scorchers (3)
BBL|07 (2017-18) Adelaide Strikers (1)
BBL|08 (2018-19) Melbourne Renegades (1)
BBL|09 (2019-20) Sydney Sixers (2)
BBL|10 (2020-21) Sydney Sixers (3)

More Cricket content