The Roar
The Roar


Australia vs India: Second T20 international cricket live scores, blog

23rd November, 2018
Live Comments

Match Complete

First Innings: Australia



Autoplay in... 6 (Cancel)
Up Next No more videos! Playlist is empty -
23rd November, 2018
1745 Reads


Match Complete



Match Abandoned

2/39 (4.0) *Ahmed O: 19.0 Tye* 12 (13)
1/20 (4.0) Bumrah RR:5.95 McDermott 32 (30)
c. sub b. Kumar15.6
Coulter-Nile 18(9)
c. Pandya b. Yadav13.1
Carey 4(6)
b. Pandya10.6
Maxwell 19(22)
c. Karthik b. Bumrah6.3
Stoinis 4(5)
b. Ahmed5.3
Short 14(15)
c. Pandya b. Ahmed3.5
Lynn 13(13)
c. Pant b. Kumar0.2
Finch 0(1)

Show Full Scoreboard

Hide Full Scoreboard

First Innings: Australia 7/132 RR: 5.95 O: 19.0
Batsmen R B 4s 6s SR

D.J.M. Short

b. Ahmed

14 15 2 0 93.33

A.J. Finch*

c. Pant b. Kumar

0 1 0 0 0.00

C.A. Lynn

c. Pandya b. Ahmed

13 13 1 1 100.00

G.J. Maxwell

b. Pandya

19 22 1 0 86.36

M.P. Stoinis

c. Karthik b. Bumrah

4 5 1 0 80.00

B.R. McDermott

not out

32 30 2 1 106.67

A.T. Carey+

c. Pandya b. Yadav

4 6 0 0 66.67

N.M. Coulter-Nile

c. sub b. Kumar

18 9 1 2 200.00

A.J. Tye

not out

12 13 2 0 92.31

A. Zampa


J.P. Behrendorff



(b 1, lb 3, w 12, nb 0)

Total 132  
Bowlers O M R W Ec
B. Kumar 3.0 0 20 2 6.67
K.K. Ahmed 4.0 0 39 2 9.75
J.J. Bumrah 4.0 0 20 1 5.00
K. Yadav 4.0 0 23 1 5.75
K.H. Pandya 4.0 0 26 1 6.50

Show Preview

After a nail-biting victory in the first match, Australia will attempt to wrap up their T20 international series against India in straight sets at the MCG, but they’ll need the weather to hold off first. Join The Roar for live scores and coverage from 6:50pm (AEDT).

Unfortunately, it’s been raining pretty consistently in Melbourne for the last few days and the forecast for the match isn’t much better, with rain and storms lashing the city across Friday.

With plenty of water already on the ground, getting a full 40 overs in tonight would seem something of a miracle.

Yet, it was a rain-affected match in Brisbane as well and served up one of the better T20 matches we have seen in recent memory, with Australia hanging on by just four runs on the Duckworth Lewis method.

After being sent in, the hosts got off to something of a slow start, but did a good job keeping their wickets intact early-on.

Chris Lynn, Glenn Maxwell and then Marcus Stoinis were the trio who righted the ship for Australia though, the latter pair of the trio putting on 80 in six overs before the rain eventually hit.

Australia would bat just five balls after the delay, with the D/L method setting India a chaseable 174 in 17 overs.

They looked to be more or less on track early on as well, with Shikhar Dhawan leading the way for the tourists. His good form saw him end up with 76 from just 42 balls, but he received very little support otherwise. The master of run chases, Virat Kohli, got just four, while Rohit Sharma did next to no damage at the top.

Despite that, some awful bowling from Jason Behrendorff and Andrew Tye kept India in the game, with Rishabh Pant and Dinesh Karthik throwing the hammer down. Great overs at the end from Stoinis and the aforementioned, under pressure, Tye, got Australia back in front though and under pressure, they managed to hold out.


Neither team will have been over the moon with their performance in Brisbane. India will feel they let one slip with sloppy fielding and bowling in the second half of the innings the only reason Australia got a competitive, let alone big, total.

Australia will also feel they need to start stronger with the stick and be more consistent with accuracy and fielding.

India will bounce back. They weren’t too far off the money in Brisbane, and that was without Rohit and Kohli going big.

India to level the series.

Be sure to join The Roar for live coverage of this second T20 between Australia and India from 6:50pm (AEDT) and don’t forget to add a comment in the section below.

Game information

First ball: 6:50pm (AEDT)
Venue: Melbourne Cricket Ground, Melbourne, Victoria
TV: Live, Fox Sports (Fox Cricket 501)
Online: Live, Foxtel app, Foxtel now
Betting: India $1.78, Australia $2.05
Overall record: Played 16, India 10, Australia 6
Umpires: Simon Fry and Gerard Abood

Australia (squad)
Aaron Finch (c), Ashton Agar, Jason Behrendorff, Alex Carey, Nathan Coulter-Nile, Chris Lynn, Ben McDermott, Glenn Maxwell, D’Arcy Short, Billy Stanlake, Marcus Stoinis, Andrew Tye, Adam Zampa


India (squad)
Virat Kohli (c), Khaleel Ahmed, Jasprit Bumrah, Yuzvendra Chahal, Shikhar Dhawan, Shreyas Iyer, Dinesh Karthik, Kuldeep Yadav, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Manish Pandey, Krunal Pandya, Rishabh Pant, KL Rahul, Washington Sundar, Umesh Yadav

Hide Preview