The Roar
The Roar


Australia vs Sri Lanka: First T20 match result, highlights

27th October, 2019
Live Comments

Match Complete

First Innings: Sri Lanka



Autoplay in... 6 (Cancel)
Up Next No more videos! Playlist is empty -
Roar Guru
27th October, 2019
2448 Reads


Match Complete

Sri Lanka


0/21 (4.0) *Richardson O: 20.0 Fernando* 8 (6)
2/27 (4.0) Cummins RR:4.24 Malinga 13 (19)
st. Carey b. Zampa16.6
Rajitha 0(2)
c. Agar b. Zampa16.3
Sandakan 6(7)
c. Richardson b. Zampa14.2
Shanaka 17(18)
run out (Maxwell)13.6
De Silva 5(10)
b. Starc10.3
Perera 16(16)
b. Agar9.2
Fernando 13(21)
b. Cummins3.4
Rajapaksa 2(6)
c. Warner b. Cummins3.3
Gunathilaka 11(13)
c. Turner b. Starc0.5
Mendis 0(3)
First Innings: Australia2/233RR: 9.99O: 20.0

Show Full Scoreboard

Hide Full Scoreboard

First Innings: Australia 2/233 RR: 9.99 O: 20.0
Batsmen R B 4s 6s SR

A.J. Finch*

c. Mendis b. Sandakan

64 36 8 3 177.78

D.A. Warner

not out

100 56 10 4 178.57

G.J. Maxwell

c. Perera b. Shanaka

62 28 7 3 221.43

A.J. Turner

not out

1 1 0 0 100.00

S.P.D. Smith


A.T. Carey+


A.C. Agar


P.J. Cummins


M.A. Starc


K.W. Richardson


A. Zampa



(b 0, lb 0, w 5, nb 1)

Total 233  
Bowlers O M R W Ec
S.L. Malinga 4.0 0 37 0 9.25
C.A.K. Rajitha 4.0 0 75 0 18.75
A.N.P.R. Fernando 4.0 0 28 0 7.00
P.A.D.L.R. Sandakan 4.0 0 41 1 10.25
P.W.H. De Silva 3.0 0 42 0 14.00
M.D. Shanaka 1.0 0 10 1 10.00
First Innings: Sri Lanka 9/99 RR: 4.24 O: 20.0
Batsmen R B 4s 6s SR

M.D. Gunathilaka

c. Warner b. Cummins

11 13 2 0 84.62

B.K.G. Mendis

c. Turner b. Starc

0 3 0 0 0.00

P.B.B. Rajapaksa

b. Cummins

2 6 0 0 33.33

M.D.K.J. Perera+

b. Starc

16 16 1 0 100.00

B.O.P. Fernando

b. Agar

13 21 1 0 61.90

M.D. Shanaka

c. Richardson b. Zampa

17 18 1 1 94.44

P.W.H. De Silva

run out (Maxwell)

5 10 0 0 50.00

P.A.D.L.R. Sandakan

c. Agar b. Zampa

6 7 1 0 85.71

S.L. Malinga*

not out

13 19 1 0 68.42

C.A.K. Rajitha

st. Carey b. Zampa

0 2 0 0 0.00

A.N.P.R. Fernando

not out

8 6 1 0 133.33


(b 0, lb 6, w 1, nb 1)

Total 99  
Bowlers O M R W Ec
M.A. Starc 4.0 0 18 2 4.50
K.W. Richardson 4.0 0 21 0 5.25
P.J. Cummins 4.0 0 27 2 6.75
A. Zampa 4.0 0 14 3 3.50
A.C. Agar 4.0 0 13 1 3.25

Show Preview

Match result:

A century for David Warner was one of the highlights of a dominant victory for Australia in their T20 versus Sri Lanka, ultimately victorious by 134 runs.

Final score
Australia 2/233
Sri Lanka 9/99

Match preview:

The Australian men’s international summer begins today, with Australia hosting Sri Lanka in a three-match T20 series starting at Adelaide Oval. Join The Roar for live coverage of the first match in the T20 International series, from 2:30pm AEDT.

The domestic competitions have begun and the women’s summer opened with a demolition of Sri Lanka, but attention now turns to the men’s team and two T20 series – the first against Sri Lanka.

This match will signal the start of the host nation’s journey to the 2020 World Cup, which begins down under in a little less than 12 months.

Led by captain Aaron Finch – who is confident he can overcome a side strain and take the field – Australia’s side is a fresh mix of experienced faces.

Steve Smith returns to the squad, his last T20 International was in 2016.


Pat Cummins and Mitchell Starc have also got the call-up, while regulars Alex Carey and Glenn Maxwell remain in the middle order.

Adam Zampa should be the selected spinner; he would be feeling confident after taking two wickets and hitting a match-winning 35 runs from 15 balls playing for South Australia in the Marsh One-Day Cup on Wednesday.

Australia’s opponent this week is Sri Lanka, ranked seventh in T20s; however, the nation recently beat the number one T20 team: Pakistan.

The team was referred to as a ‘B’ squad, too, as ten Sri Lankan players withdrew from the tour due to security threats.

Following impressive performances in Pakistan, left-handed batsman Bhanuka Rajapaksa, and bowlers Wanindu Hasaranga and Isuru Udana have retained their places in the squad.

Lasith Malinga is still bowling at 36 years of age and will captain the touring side, joined by experienced wicketkeeper Niroshan Dickwella.

Sri Lanka lost by one wicket to the Prime Minister’s XI in a tour match on Thursday evening at Manuka Oval.

Regular wickets throughout the Sri Lankan innings made it difficult for the touring side to really get going; Oshada Fernando top scored with 38 runs.


In the chase it came down to the last over, the Prime Minister’s XI requiring 10 runs and Sri Lanka two wickets.

Fawad Ahmed scored the squaring runs, before a wide on the last ball gave the XI the win.

Harry Nielson was best with the bat, scoring 79; while Kasun Rajitha and Lakshan Sandakan took three wickets each.

Sri Lanka will now take on Australia.

After Adelaide, the series will continue in Brisbane on Wednesday evening and at the MCG on Friday.

Sri Lanka is on a winning run in internationals, including a 3-0 series win against Pakistan, but will meet an Australian team ready to fire.

On home soil, the Australian men will be eager to get their international summer off to a strong start.

Australia to win.


Venue: Adelaide Oval, Adelaide
Time: 2:30pm AEDT
TV: Fox Cricket
Online: Kayo Sports, Cricket Australia Live App
Betting: Australia $1.20, Sri Lanka $4.50

Australia squad
Aaron Finch (c), Ashton Agar, Alex Carey (wk), Pat Cummins, Glenn Maxwell, Ben McDermott, Kane Richardson, Steve Smith, Billy Stanlake, Mitchell Starc, Ashton Turner, Andrew Tye, David Warner, Adam Zampa

Sri Lanka squad
Lasith Malinga (c), Kusal Perera, Kusal Mendis, Danushka Gunathilaka, Avishka Fernando, Niroshan Dickwella (wk), Dasun Shanaka, Shehan Jayasuriya, Bhanuka Rajapaksa, Oshada Fernando, Wanindu Hasaranga, Lakshan Sandakan, Nuwan Pradeep, Lahiru Kumara, Isuru Udana, Kasun Rajitha

Hide Preview