The Roar
The Roar


Australia vs Sri Lanka: Women's T20 World Cup live scores, blog

Autoplay in... 6 (Cancel)
Up Next No more videos! Playlist is empty -
Roar Guru
24th February, 2020

Show Preview

The second round of the Women’s T20 World Cup sees a Group A clash between Australia and Sri Lanka take place at the WACA in Perth. Join The Roar for live scores and coverage from 6:00pm (AEDT).

Australia got off to a disappointing start with a loss to India in the opening match of the tournament on Friday night.

Set a target of 133 to chase down, a middle-order collapse led to Australia only reaching 115 before being bowled out.

T20 player of the tear Alyssa Healy top scored with 51, while Ashleigh Gardner was the only other batter to reach double figures with 34. The recently crowned Belinda Clark Medalist Ellyse Perry had an uncharacteristically poor night, with 1-15 from three overs with the ball and a golden duck with the bat.

Sri Lanka also started their tournament with a loss, coming on Saturday night against New Zealand.

Sri Lanka set a relatively competitive target for New Zealand to chase, being 7-127 at the end of their 20 overs. Captain Chamari Athapaththu was comfortably their best on ground, scoring 41 with the bat and picking up 1-26 with the ball.

Any chance of defending the total was lost early, with some poor fielding and dropped catches letting New Zealand’s batters off the hook. From there, New Zealand were able to chase them down fairly easily, winning the match by seven wickets in the 18th over.

From the last ten times Australia and Sri Lanka have faced each other dating back to 2016, Australia have won all ten.

While they won the warm-up match against England, Sri Lanka’s last win in a competitive T20 match came in November 2018. It’s difficult to see that changing here. Australia had their struggles against India, but India are a different class to Sri Lanka.


Australia should win, and win comfortably.

Follow all the action on The Roar, with coverage starting at 6:00pm (AEDT).

Game information

Venue: WACA, Perth
Time: 6:00pm (AEDT)
TV: 9Gem, Fox Cricket, Kayo Sports
Odds: Australia $1.05, Sri Lanka $11

Australia squad
Meg Lanning (c), Rachael Haynes (vc), Erin Burns, Nicola Carey, Ashleigh Gardner, Alyssa Healy (wk), Jess Jonassen, Delissa Kimmince, Sophie Molineux, Beth Mooney, Ellyse Perry, Megan Schutt, Molly Strano, Annabel Sutherland, Georgia Wareham.

Sri Lanka squad
Chamari Athapaththu (c), Harshitha Madavi (vc), Kavisha Dilhari, Ama Kanchana, Hansima Karunaratne, Achini Kulasuriya, Sugandika Kumari, Dilani Manodara, Hasini Perera, Udeshika Prabodhani, Sathya Sandeepani, Anushka Sanjeewani, Nilakshi de Silva, Shashikala Siriwardene, Umesha Thimashini.

Hide Preview