The Roar
The Roar


India vs Australia highlights: 2nd T20, cricket scores, blog

27th February, 2019
Live Comments

Match Complete

First Innings: Australia



Autoplay in... 6 (Cancel)
Up Next No more videos! Playlist is empty -
27th February, 2019
5198 Reads


Match Complete



Australia win by 7 wickets

1/45 (3.4) *Kaul O: 19.4 Maxwell* 113 (55)
0/30 (4.0) Bumrah RR:8.75 Handscomb 20 (18)
c. Rahul b. Shankar11.1
Short 40(28)
c. Dhawan b. Shankar3.6
Finch 8(7)
b. Kaul2.2
Stoinis 7(11)
First Innings: India4/190RR: 8.14O: 20.0

Show Full Scoreboard

Hide Full Scoreboard

First Innings: India 4/190 RR: 8.14 O: 20.0
Batsmen R B 4s 6s SR

K.L. Rahul

c. Richardson b. Coulter-Nile

47 26 3 4 180.77

S. Dhawan

c. Stoinis b. Behrendorff

14 24 1 0 58.33

V. Kohli*

not out

72 38 2 6 189.47

R.R. Pant

c. Richardson b. Short

1 6 0 0 16.67

M.S. Dhoni+

c. Finch b. Cummins

40 23 3 3 173.91

D.K. Karthik

not out

8 3 2 0 266.67

V. Shankar


K.H. Pandya


Y.S. Chahal


J.J. Bumrah


S. Kaul



(b 0, lb 3, w 5, nb 0)

Total 190  
Bowlers O M R W Ec
J.P. Behrendorff 3.0 0 17 1 5.67
J.A. Richardson 4.0 0 45 0 11.25
N.M. Coulter-Nile 3.0 0 33 1 11.00
P.J. Cummins 3.0 0 40 1 13.33
A. Zampa 4.0 0 23 0 5.75
D.J.M. Short 3.0 0 29 1 9.67
First Innings: Australia 3/194 RR: 8.75 O: 19.4
Batsmen R B 4s 6s SR

D.J.M. Short

c. Rahul b. Shankar

40 28 6 0 142.86

M.P. Stoinis

b. Kaul

7 11 1 0 63.64

A.J. Finch*

c. Dhawan b. Shankar

8 7 1 0 114.29

G.J. Maxwell

not out

113 55 7 9 205.45

P.S.P. Handscomb+

not out

20 18 1 0 111.11

A.J. Turner


N.M. Coulter-Nile


P.J. Cummins


J.A. Richardson


J.P. Behrendorff


A. Zampa



(b 0, lb 1, w 4, nb 1)

Total 194  
Bowlers O M R W Ec
V. Shankar 4.0 0 38 2 9.50
J.J. Bumrah 4.0 0 30 0 7.50
S. Kaul 3.4 0 45 1 12.27
Y.S. Chahal 4.0 0 47 0 11.75
K.H. Pandya 4.0 0 33 0 8.25

Show Preview

Match result: Glenn Maxwell was the hero as Australia got past India with two balls to spare in the second T20 at Bengaluru.

By the time it was all said and done, Maxwell had cleared the rope a staggering nine times in his 55 balls at the crease, finishing it off with two balls to spare after another six and four.

Match preview: Australia will look to win their T20 series outright against India after a Game 1 thriller when the two sides head to Bengaluru. Join The Roar for live scores and coverage from 12:30am (AEDT).

The hosts were shocked in Game 1, as Australia pulled off a victory away from home to get what was expected to be a tough limited overs tour underway.

India batted first, but could only muster 126 as Jason Behrendorff and Pat Cummins put the squeeze on with good lines and lengths, before Nathan Coulter-Nile become the beneficiary with three wickets.

Of course, the pitch had its say, and by the time Australia got the winning runs, the whole 20 overs were used, as were seven wickets, with only Glenn Maxwell’s half-century powering the tourists home.

Australia will be under the pump from the word go in this game though, with many of India’s batsmen failing in the first, unlikely to do so again in Bengaluru, which typically has a pitch which allows for higher scores.

The average score at the ground is 152 across five T20s, with only scores of 202 and 146 winning when batting first.

That means one thing – India’s powerful batting order should come into its own against an Aussie attack missing Mitchell Starc.


Virat Kohli barely ever fails twice, while Rohit Sharma and KL Rahul form a lethal opening combination, and if it all clicks, then it’s hard to see the Aussies having the runs outside of Maxwell.

They, for the most part, looked all at sea during the first T20, especially against Jasprit Bumrah, who have the green and gold hell all summer back at home.

If he gets going and their spinners are on the money, then D’Arcy Short will be under the pump, Marcus Stoinis doesn’t rotate strike enough, Peter Handscomb’s last few innings have all been played at an attempted one speed and Aaron Finch’s form is woeful.

All that leads to a recipe of India getting back on the front foot and taking not only the victory, but the all-important momentum into a crucial one-day series which starts on Sunday.

It was something of a shock the hosts lost the first game, and despite Australia clearly benefiting from playing plenty of T20 cricket domestically recently, they are probably going to get brought undone here in a game which should bring more runs with it.

India to level the series at 1-1.

Be sure to join The Roar for live coverage of Game 2 in this T20 series from 12:30am (AEDT) and don’t forget to add a comment in the section below.

Game information


First ball: 12:30am (AEDT)
Venue: M. Chinnaswamy Stadium, Bengaluru
TV: Live, Fox Cricket 501
Online: Live, Foxtel app, Foxtel now, Kayo Sports
Betting: India $1.55, Australia $2.51
Overall record: Played 19, India 11, Australia 7, no result 1
Umpires: Anil Chaudhary, Nandan

Game 1: Australia by 3 wickets at ACA-VDCA Stadium, Visakhapatnam

India (squad)
Virat Kohli (c), Jasprit Bumrah, Yuzvendra Chahal, Shikhar Dhawan, MS Dhoni, Dinesh Karthik, Siddarth Kaul, Mayank Markande, Krunal Pandya, Rishabh Pant, Lokesh Rahul, Vijay Shankar, Rohit Sharma, Umesh Yadav, Hardki Pandya

Australia (squad)
Aaron Finch (c), Pat Cummins (vc), Alex Carey (vc), Jason Behrendorff, Nathan Coulter-Nile, Peter Handscomb, Usman Khawaja, Nathan Lyon, Shaun Marsh, Glenn Maxwell, Jhye Richardson, Kane Richardson, D’Arcy Short, Marcus Stoinis, Ashton Turner, Adam Zampa

Hide Preview