The Roar
The Roar


Perth Scorchers vs Sydney Sixers: Big Bash Qualifier cricket live scores, blog

22nd January, 2022
Live Comments

Match Complete

First Innings: Sydney Sixers

140 all out

SYD140 all out

Autoplay in... 6 (Cancel)
Up Next No more videos! Playlist is empty -
Roar Guru
22nd January, 2022

Perth Scorchers

Match Complete

Sydney Sixers

140 all out

Perth Scorchers win by 49 runs

1/28 (3.2) *Hatzoglou O: 19.2
2/38 (4.0) Tye RR:6.32 O'Keefe 2 (3)
st. Inglis b. Hatzoglou19.2
Dwarshuis 66(29)
c. Behrendorff b. Tye16.4
Lyon 2(2)
c. Inglis b. Tye16.2
Kerr 22(18)
run out (Turner)11.6
Abbott 3(7)
c. Inglis b. Richardson10.2
Henriques 17(30)
c. Munro b. Agar8.1
Christian 7(4)
b. Agar6.5
Bertus 4(7)
c. Hatzoglou b. Behrendorff3.5
Silk 1(5)
b. Richardson2.3
Philippe 5(8)
c. Inglis b. Behrendorff1.3
Avendano 0(3)
First Innings: Perth Scorchers3/189RR: 8.10O: 20.0

Show Full Scoreboard

Hide Full Scoreboard

First Innings: Perth Scorchers 3/189 RR: 8.10 O: 20.0
Batsmen R B 4s 6s SR

J.P. Inglis+

st. Philippe b. O'Keefe

79 49 9 1 161.22

K.R. Patterson

c. Christian b. Kerr

64 41 5 3 156.10

M.R. Marsh

c. Henriques b. Kerr

28 21 4 0 133.33

C. Munro

not out

12 9 1 0 133.33

A.J. Turner*

not out

0 0 0 0 0.00

L.J. Evans


A.C. Agar


J.A. Richardson


A.J. Tye


J.P. Behrendorff


P. Hatzoglou



(b 0, lb 3, w 3, nb 0)

Total 189  
Bowlers O M R W Ec
N.M. Lyon 3.0 0 31 0 10.33
S.A. Abbott 4.0 0 39 0 9.75
H. Kerr 4.0 0 37 2 9.25
B.J. Dwarshuis 3.0 0 29 0 9.67
S.N.J. O'Keefe 4.0 0 36 1 9.00
D.T. Christian 2.0 0 14 0 7.00
First Innings: Sydney Sixers 140 all out RR: 6.32 O: 19.2
Batsmen R B 4s 6s SR

J.R. Philippe+

b. Richardson

5 8 1 0 62.50

J.J. Avendano

c. Inglis b. Behrendorff

0 3 0 0 0.00

M.C. Henriques*

c. Inglis b. Richardson

17 30 1 0 56.67

J.C. Silk

c. Hatzoglou b. Behrendorff

1 5 0 0 20.00

N.L. Bertus

b. Agar

4 7 0 0 57.14

D.T. Christian

c. Munro b. Agar

7 4 0 1 175.00

S.A. Abbott

run out (Turner)

3 7 0 0 42.86

H. Kerr

c. Inglis b. Tye

22 18 2 1 122.22

B.J. Dwarshuis

st. Inglis b. Hatzoglou

66 29 7 4 227.59

N.M. Lyon

c. Behrendorff b. Tye

2 2 0 0 100.00

S.N.J. O'Keefe

not out

2 3 0 0 66.67


(b 1, lb 5, w 5, nb 0)

Total 140  
Bowlers O M R W Ec
J.A. Richardson 4.0 0 21 2 5.25
J.P. Behrendorff 4.0 0 31 2 7.75
A.C. Agar 4.0 0 16 2 4.00
P. Hatzoglou 3.2 0 28 1 8.40
A.J. Tye 4.0 0 38 2 9.50

Show Preview

A spot in the BBL final is up for grabs tonight when the Perth Scorchers take on the Sydney Sixers in the Qualifier at Marvel Stadium in Melbourne. Join The Roar for live scores and commentary from 7:15pm (AEDT).

The Scorchers and Sixers have long been the powerhouses of the BBL competition, having won three titles each. In all likelihood, one of these teams will add to their tally this year; winning the Qualifier makes their path a fair bit easier.

Perth are the minor premiers in BBL11, with an impressive 11-3 record. There doesn’t appear to be a weakness.

There is not a better top six in the competition, especially with Mitchell Marsh and Josh Inglis returning to the line-up. Colin Munro is the team’s highest run-scorer, but the honours have been evenly spread, underlining their depth. Kurtis Patterson and Ashton Turner have also had strong tournaments.

Their bowling attack is the most miserly in the competition, led by Andrew Tye, Jason Behrendorff and Ashton Agar. If that’s not hard enough, Jhye Richardson will get a start in the finals series after missing much of the season on Test duty.

The Sixers are looking to achieve the ‘three-peat’ this season, and continue to find ways to win when the odds look against them. Their second spot has been achieved despite encountering a number of setbacks along the way.

For Sydney’s batting order, the keys are Josh Philippe and Moises Henriques, who sit third and sixth on the Golden Bat standings for the tournament’s leading run-scorer. If either of them get amongst the runs, the Sixers tend to win.

Hayden Kerr and Ben Dwarshuis have been the key wicket-takers for the reigning champs, whilst Sean Abbott has the ability to change the game on his own with bat or ball.

The Sixers are bolstered by the inclusion of Test spinner Nathan Lyon, bringing more variety to the attack.



In disappointing news for Sixers fans, Cricket Australia has ruled out Steve Smith from a finals call-up, and without him, the Scorchers do look the better team on paper.

However, you never rule out a champion team, and Sydney are surely that after their recent success.

Having said all that, the Scorchers may have just a bit too much firepower.

Scorchers by 20 runs or 4 wickets

Game information

First ball: 7:15pm (AEDT)
Venue: Marvel Stadium, Melbourne
Broadcast: Fox Cricket, Channel 7
Streaming: Kayo
Betting: Scorchers $1.71, Sixers $2.12 – odds via PlayUp



Perth Scorchers
Ashton Agar, Cameron Bancroft, Jason Behrendorff, Cooper Connolly, Laurie Evans, Aaron Hardie, Peter Hatzoglou, Nick Hobson, Josh Inglis, Matthew Kelly, Mitch Marsh, David Moody, Tymal Mills, Lance Morris, Colin Munro, Kurtis Patterson, Jhye Richardson, Ashton Turner, Andrew Tye, David Moody.

Sydney Sixers
Sean Abbott, Justin Avendano, Jackson Bird, Dan Christian, Ben Dwarshuis, Jack Edwards, Mickey Edwards, Moises Henriques, Daniel Hughes, Hayden Kerr, Nathan Lyon, Todd Murphy, Lawrence Neil-Smith, Steve O’Keefe, Josh Philippe, Lloyd Pope, Jordan Silk.

Hide Preview