The Roar
The Roar


Queensland vs Western Australia: Marsh One-Day Cup final match results, full scorecard, highlights

Autoplay in... 6 (Cancel)
Up Next No more videos! Playlist is empty -
25th November, 2019
1317 Reads


2019 Marsh Cup, Final
Venue: Allan Border Field, Brisbane, Queensland
Match status: Match complete, Western Australia win by 4 wickets
Toss: Western Australia elected to field first
QueenslandvsWestern Australia

Innings of: Queensland

Pos. Batter name How out Runs Balls 4s 6s
1 Max Bryant LBW Richardson 2 8
2 Usman Khawaja C Marsh, B Coulter-Nile 26 28 2 1
3 Sam Heazlett B Coulter-Nile 1 4
4 Matt Renshaw C Marsh, B Richardson 19 24 2
5 Bryce Street C & B Agar 29 72 1
6 Jack Wildermuth LBW Richardson 0 8
7 James Peirson C Green, B Coulter-Nile 79 83 6 1
8 Michael Neser LBW Short 8 22
9 Mark Steketee C Cartwright, B Stoinis 18 28
10 Matt Kuhnemann Run out 13 20 1
11 Billy Stanlake Not out 0 0
Sundries: 7 wides, 0 no balls, 0 byes, 3 leg byes, (total: 10)
Bowler name Overs Maidens Wickets Runs
Jhye Richardson 10 1 3 35
Nathan Coulter-Nile 9.3 1 3 47
Matthew Kelly 8 1 0 33
Marcus Stoinis 10 0 1 30
Ashton Agar 10 0 1 46
D'Arcy Short 2 0 1 11

Innings of: Western Australia

Pos. Batter name How out Runs Balls 4s 6s
1 Cameron Bancroft C Neser, B Steketee 8 10 2
2 D'Arcy Short C Street, B Neser 5 4 1
3 Shaun Marsh Not out 101 132 13
4 Ashton Turner LBW Neser 3 17
5 Marcus Stoinis C Heazlett, B Renshaw 37 62 1 3
6 Hilton Cartwright C Renshaw, B Steketee 5 6 1
7 Cameron Green C Bryant, B Wildermuth 7 15
8 Ashton Agar Not out 29 42 2 1

Did not bat

Nathan Coulter-Nile, Jhye Richardson, Matthew Kelly
Sundries: 9 wides, 0 no balls, 0 byes, 6 leg byes, (total: 15)
Bowler name Overs Maidens Wickets Runs
Michael Neser 10 3 2 34
Mark Steketee 10 0 2 32
Billy Stanlake 10 1 0 30
Jack Wildermuth 9 1 1 51
Matt Kuhnemann 4 0 0 32
Matt Renshaw 5 0 1 25

Show Preview

Match results:

Western Australia have won the Marsh One-Day Cup final on the road, getting the better of Queensland by four wickets.

Final score
Queensland: 10/205 (49.1)
Western Australia: 6/210 (48)

Match preview:

The final of the one-day cup for 2019 will see Queensland and Western Australia face off at the Allan Border Oval, with neither team the clear favourite. Join The Roar for live scores and coverage from 11am (AEDT).

When the season is put on a review, Queensland and Western Australia have been, without a doubt, the two top teams, and had to be separated by net run rate to determine who would host the decider.

Queensland do have the edge thanks to a home win over Western Austalia in the regular season, but even that match came down to the wire, with the Bulls winning by just 26 runs on the Gold Coast after putting on 268 with the bat.

Other wins have come at a more convincing clip for both sides, with Queensland undoubtedly helped by having Usman Khawaja available, with the Aussie international scoring 372 runs at 93 across his five games.

While the home side don’t have the services of Marnus Labuschagne for the final, Sam Heazlett and Max Bryat have also shown good form with the stick.


Western Australia have also had their fortunes improved by a discarded Australian international, with Shaun Marsh scoring 288 runs across the competition and racking up a couple of half-centuries in the process.

His consistent form has been important in building a platform for the Warriors, with D’Arcy Short able to play freely around him and Cameron Bancroft pitching in with some good performances at the top of the order.

While Queensland have the excess run-scoring of Khawaja, the Warriors have had more consistency up and down the batting order, which, when combined with the fact Nathan Coulter-Nile is the leading wicket-taker in the competition, certainly gives them an edge.

Marcus Stoinis and Jhye Richardson have also been handy with the ball, while the form of Cameron Green in the last fortnight has been phenomenal, with the Warriors biggest problem posing as the threat of playing away from home for the decider.

Queensland will need something near a complete performance. Mark Steketee, who has 11 wickets at 22.27 has been outstanding, but their bowling generally hasn’t been close enough to the mark, with only the big individual performances in both sides of the game getting them through at times.

Queensland might be at home, but the visitors are the better side on paper. Western Australia to be crowned champions.

Be sure to join The Roar for live coverage of the One-Day Cup final from 11am (AEDT) on Tuesday, and don’t forget to add a comment in the section below.

Game information


First ball: 11am (AEDT)
Venue: Allan Border Field, Brisbane
TV: Live, Fox Cricket 501
Online: Live, Kayo Sports, Foxtel App, Foxtel Now
Betting: Western Australia $1.75, Queensland $2.08
Last meeting: October 31, 2019 – Queensland defeat Western Australia by 26 runs at Metricon Stadium, Gold Coast
Umpires: Gerard Abood (New South Wales), Shawn Craig (Victoria)

Queensland (squad)

Usman Khawaja (c), Matt Renshaw, Jack Wildermuth, Ben Cutting, Sam Heazlett, Michael Neser, James Peirson (wk), Matthew Kuhnemann, Bryce Street, Billy Stanlake, Mark Steketee, Charlie Hemphrey, Max Bryant, Xavier Bartlett

Western Australia (squad)

Ashton Turner (c), Ashton Agar, Cameron Bancroft, Hilton Cartwright, Nathan Coulter-Nile, Cameron Green, Liam Guthrie, Matthew Kelly, Shaun Marsh, Josh Philippe, Jhye Richardson, D’Arcy Short, Marcus Stoinis

Hide Preview