The Roar
The Roar


Sydney Sixers vs Brisbane Heat: WBBL Final live scores, blog

Autoplay in... 6 (Cancel)
Up Next No more videos! Playlist is empty -
Roar Guru
25th January, 2019

Show Preview

Match result:

The Brisbane Heat have taken home the WBBL04 final, defeating the Sydney Sixers at Drummoyne Oval on Saturday.

Final score
Sydney Sixers 7/131
Brisbane Heat 7/132

Match preview:

In the WBBL04 final, the Sydney Sixers will go up against the Brisbane Heat, on Saturday morning at Drummoyne Oval. Join The Roar for live coverage of the final from 10:10am AEDT.

After 56 matches and two thrilling semi-finals, we arrive at the final game of the fourth WBBL season.

The Sixers fought through to the final with a Super Over win against the Melbourne Renegades in the second semi-final.

Batting first, Sydney put on 131 runs at Drummoyne Oval, including 54 not-out from Ellyse Perry and an even better unbeaten half-century by Dane Van Niekerk.

Sophie Molineux put on 55 for the Renegades, partnering with Jess Duffin (41 runs) and Claire Koski (19 not out) to equal the Sixers with 131 runs off 20 overs.


All-square after some Erin Burns and Alyssa Healy fielding brilliance, in the Super Over the Sixers fired, while the Renegades couldn’t. Perry won the game – and a spot in the final – with a six.

Finishing third through the season, the Brisbane Heat faced the Sydney Thunder in the first semi-final last Saturday.

It was a thrilling encounter that came down to the last ball.

Brisbane put together 140, with starts by Sammy-Jo Johnson (33 runs) and Laura Harris (32 not out), before the Thunder’s chase got underway.

Jemma Barsby bagged three wickets, before Haidee Birkett made arguably the play of the day, catching Nicola Carey on the boundary to take the win for the Heat.

Carey looked calm as her final shot headed to the boundary, but the speed and hands of Birkett ended the Sydney Thunder’s WBBL04 campaign in stunning fashion.

The footage of Jess Jonassen squatting in disappointment and then her excitement as she Birkett takes the brilliant catch, is absolutely priceless.

Saturday’s final features some of Australia’s best T20 players and include brilliant innings with both bat and ball.


Local Queenslander, Delissa Kimmince, has been the best with the ball for the Heat this season, taking 20 wickets, and best figures of 4/18.

Medium-fast bowler Sammy-Jo Johnson has been a revelation, with 19 wickets in a breakout season.

Beth Mooney leads the way with the bat for the Heat, she’s made 421 runs this season, at an average of 35.08.

For the Sixers, Ellyse Perry and Alyssa Healy continue to excel and lead their team with high expectations and exceptional performances.

Perry has made an incredible 744 runs this season, at an average of 93, while her partner in crime Alyssa Healy has been a little quieter with 427 runs in total.

The pick of the bowlers for Sydney has been international star Dane Van Niekerk with 17 wickets this season.

Team camaraderie and playing for each other have been themes of both the Sixers and the Heat’s campaigns.

The aggressive game styles should encourage an exciting, tight contest to decide the WBBL04 champions.


Who will shine today? Time will tell. With international experience in both teams, it might very well come down to the second tier of players and how well they can perform in this WBBL04 final.

Though it would be nice to see Brisbane Heat hold up the trophy for a change, it’s hard to go past a star-studded and very experienced team in the Sydney Sixers.

Going for three consecutive championships, I think Perry will lead them to the trophy once again.

Sydney Sixers to win, Ellyse Perry player of the match.

Venue: Drummoyne Oval, Sydney
Time: 10:10am AEDT
TV: Fox Sports, Seven Network
Betting: Sydney Sixers $1.47, Brisbane Heat $2.63

Sydney Sixers (squad)
Sarah Aley, Erin Burns, Lauren Cheatle, Ashleigh Gardner, Alyssa Healy, Jodie Hicks, Marizanne Kapp, Carly Leeson, Sara McGlashan, Ellyse Perry C, Hayley Silver-Holmes, Lauren Smith, Dan Van Niekerk

Brisbane Heat (squad)
Jemma Barsby, Haidee Birkett, Josie Dooley, Grace Harris, Laura Harris, Sammy-Jo Johnson, Jess Jonassen, Delissa Kimmince, Suné Luus, Beth Mooney, Georgia Prestwidge, Laura Wolvaardt

Join The Roar for all the action from Drummoyne Oval, starting at 10:10am AEDT.


Hide Preview