The Roar
The Roar


Sydney Sixers vs Melbourne Stars: Big Bash League cricket live scores, blog

20th January, 2020
Live Comments

Match Complete

First Innings: Melbourne Stars



Autoplay in... 6 (Cancel)
Up Next No more videos! Playlist is empty -
Roar Pro
20th January, 2020

Sydney Sixers

Match Complete

Melbourne Stars


Sydney Sixers win by 21 runs (DLS Method)

2/20 (3.0) *Dwarshuis O: 14.0 Gotch* 3 (3)
2/23 (3.0) Curran RR:7.65 Merlo 2 (1)
c. Henriques b. Curran13.2
Maxwell 12(13)
c. Hughes b. Curran13.1
Larkin 3(3)
c. Henriques b. Lyon11.4
Stoinis 62(37)
b. Dwarshuis9.4
Maddinson 16(18)
c. Philippe b. Dwarshuis3.1
Cartwright 21(10)
First Innings: Sydney Sixers4/143RR: 8.76O: 14.0

Show Full Scoreboard

Hide Full Scoreboard

First Innings: Sydney Sixers 4/143 RR: 8.76 O: 14.0
Batsmen R B 4s 6s SR

J.R. Philippe+

c. Hinchliffe b. Lamichhane

10 14 0 0 71.43

D.P. Hughes

st. Gotch b. Lamichhane

14 15 2 0 93.33

J.M. Vince

not out

41 22 1 2 186.36

M.C. Henriques*

c. Maddinson b. Worrall

72 31 2 8 232.26

T.K. Curran

run out (Maxwell)

2 3 0 0 66.67

J.C. Silk


J. Avendano


B.J. Dwarshuis


N.M. Lyon


J.M. Bird


S.N.J. O'Keefe



(b 0, lb 1, w 2, nb 1)

Total 143  
Bowlers O M R W Ec
D.J. Worrall 3.0 0 15 1 5.00
G.J. Maxwell 2.0 0 11 0 5.50
S. Lamichhane 3.0 0 38 2 12.67
C.D. Hinchliffe 2.0 0 19 0 9.50
J.A. Merlo 2.0 0 21 0 10.50
L.R. Morris 2.0 0 38 0 19.00
First Innings: Melbourne Stars 5/125 RR: 7.65 O: 14.0
Batsmen R B 4s 6s SR

M.P. Stoinis

c. Henriques b. Lyon

62 37 3 4 167.57

H.W.R. Cartwright

c. Philippe b. Dwarshuis

21 10 3 1 210.00

N.J. Maddinson

b. Dwarshuis

16 18 0 0 88.89

G.J. Maxwell*

c. Henriques b. Curran

12 13 2 0 92.31

N.C.R. Larkin

c. Hughes b. Curran

3 3 0 0 100.00

S.E. Gotch+

not out

3 3 0 0 100.00

J.A. Merlo

not out

2 1 0 0 200.00

C.D. Hinchliffe


D.J. Worrall


L.R. Morris


S. Lamichhane



(b 1, lb 1, w 3, nb 1)

Total 125  
Bowlers O M R W Ec
J.M. Bird 2.0 0 29 0 14.50
S.N.J. O'Keefe 3.0 0 23 0 7.67
B.J. Dwarshuis 3.0 1 20 2 6.67
N.M. Lyon 3.0 0 28 1 9.33
T.K. Curran 3.0 0 23 2 7.67

Show Preview

The Sydney Sixers host the Melbourne Stars – who have already clinched the minor premiership – at the SCG in a crucial clash that will shape the finals. Join The Roar for live coverage, with live scores and a blog of the match from 6:40pm (AEDT).

The Sixers, who dealt with some heavily rain-affected games last week, will be desperate for a win to put them back in the fight for second place, which would earn them a double chance in the revamped finals format.

Sydney head into this crucial match-up after a controversial loss to the Thunder on Saturday night, which reignited debate around the accuracy of the Duckworth-Lewis method in T20 cricket.

The Sixers will be hoping to play a full 40 overs for the first time since last Sunday, when the Stars’ record-breaking batting performance snapped Sydney’s five-game winning streak.

Marcus Stoinis smashed the highest score in BBL history (147* off 79 balls) and combined with Hilton Cartwright for the highest partnership (207 runs) the last time these two sides met, with the Stars running away with a 44-run victory.

The win over Sydney was the Stars’ sixth consecutive victory, and after two impressive wins over the Scorchers last week, Melbourne will be looking to extend their ongoing streak to nine on Monday night.

Last week, Melbourne looked set for their first loss of 2020 after Perth restricted them to 141, but a brilliant all-round bowling performance from the Stars held Perth to 9-131 en route to their tenth win in BBL09.

But while the Stars continue to dominate, the Sixers find themselves battling multiple sides for second place. And with finals just around the corner, they only have three games to make their final push for that important double-chance opportunity.

The Stars finally looked beatable on Saturday against Perth, until a stellar bowling performance reminded everyone why they sit four games clear at the top of the ladder.


As they’ve already locked up the minor premiership, the Stars are expected to tinker with their line-up for the remainder of the regular season, but they’ll be motivated to keep their momentum going into finals.

Expect the Stars to become the first side in Big Bash history to win 11 matches in a season this Monday night.

Join The Roar for all the action from 6:40pm (AEDT).

Game information

First ball: 6:40pm (AEDT)
Venue: SCG
TV: Channel Seven, Fox Cricket
Online: Kayo Sports, Foxtel
Odds: Sydney $2.39, Melbourne $1.58
Last meeting: Stars won by 44 runs
Last five meetings: Stars 3, Sixers 2

Sydney Sixers 13-man squad
Moises Henriques (c), Justin Avendano, Jackson Bird, Tom Curran, Ben Dwarshuis, Mickey Edwards, Dan Hughes, Nathan Lyon, Steve O’Keefe, Josh Philippe, Lloyd Pope, Jordan Silk, James Vince

Melbourne Stars 13-man squad
Glenn Maxwell (c), Hilton Cartwright, Jackson Coleman, Ben Dunk, Seb Gotch, Clint Hinchliffe, Sandeep Lamichhane, Nick Larkin, Nic Maddinson, Jonathan Merlo, Lance Morris, Marcus Stoinis, Daniel Worrall

Hide Preview