The Roar
The Roar


Sydney Thunder vs Adelaide Strikers: BBL cricket live scores, blog

Roar Guru
21st December, 2019
Live Comments

Match Complete

First Innings: Sydney Thunder



Autoplay in... 6 (Cancel)
Up Next No more videos! Playlist is empty -
Roar Guru
21st December, 2019
1085 Reads

Sydney Thunder

Match Complete

Adelaide Strikers


No Result

0/6 (0.2) *Khan O: 4.2 Hales* 11 (10)
0/12 (2.0) Siddle RR:8.57 Ferguson 27 (14)
c. White b. Stanlake0.2
Khawaja 0(2)
First Innings: Adelaide Strikers5/161RR: 6.90O: 20.0

Show Full Scoreboard

Hide Full Scoreboard

First Innings: Adelaide Strikers 5/161 RR: 6.90 O: 20.0
Batsmen R B 4s 6s SR

P.D. Salt

c. Nair b. Sams

0 5 0 0 0.00

J.B. Weatherald

b. Sams

42 33 7 0 127.27

M.W. Short

lbw. Cook

7 3 0 1 233.33

A.T. Carey*+

c. Green b. Morris

45 40 3 1 112.50

J.W. Wells

not out

55 32 5 2 171.88

R. Khan

c. Gilkes b. Morris

0 1 0 0 0.00

C.L. White

not out

9 6 1 0 150.00

C.T. Valente


P.M. Siddle


W.A. Agar


B.J. Stanlake



(b 0, lb 0, w 3, nb 0)

Total 161  
Bowlers O M R W Ec
D.R. Sams 4.0 1 21 2 5.25
J.D. Cook 4.0 0 40 1 10.00
C.J. Green 2.0 0 21 0 10.50
C.H. Morris 4.0 0 31 2 7.75
C.P. Tremain 3.0 0 27 0 9.00
A.J. Nair 3.0 0 21 0 7.00
First Innings: Sydney Thunder 1/40 RR: 8.57 O: 4.2
Batsmen R B 4s 6s SR

U.T. Khawaja

c. White b. Stanlake

0 2 0 0 0.00

A.D. Hales

not out

11 10 2 0 110.00

C.J. Ferguson*

not out

27 14 6 0 192.86

M. Gilkes+


A.I. Ross


C.H. Morris


D.R. Sams


C.J. Green


A.J. Nair


C.P. Tremain


J.D. Cook



(b 0, lb 0, w 2, nb 0)

Total 40  
Bowlers O M R W Ec
B.J. Stanlake 1.0 0 8 1 8.00
P.M. Siddle 2.0 0 12 0 6.00
W.A. Agar 1.0 0 14 0 14.00
R. Khan 0.2 0 6 0 18.00

Show Preview

The Sydney Thunder are going for three wins on the trot as they play the Adelaide Strikers at Manuka Oval in Canberra. Join The Roar for live scores and a blog of the match from 6:10pm AEDT.

Wins over the Brisbane Heat and Melbourne Renegades have positioned the Thunder as early front-runners in the new BBL season. Led by Usman Khawaja and Alex Hales, the Thunder managed to chase down a competitive total against the Renegades two days ago, winning the match by six wickets with just two balls to spare.

Despite losing his place in Australia’s Test and ODI squads, Khawaja has let his batting do the talking recently. His half-century was a key component of the Thunder’s victory over the Renegades.

Khawaja is expected to line up against the Strikers in Canberra after a slight injury scare against Melbourne. His partnership with Alex Hales will be crucial in determining if Sydney are able to maintain their undefeated run.

The Strikers meanwhile are completely fresh, but this may work against them given that Khawaja, Callum Ferguson and Hales are in good form with the bat, so getting them out could be tricky for an Adelaide pace attack playing their first match of the season.

However, the Thunder could suffer from fatigue after two wins, but this should be negated given that confidence levels are high.

The Strikers didn’t qualify for the finals last season, finishing a disappointing seventh. More will be expected from a team coached by former Australian Test bowler Jason Gillespie. With Peter Siddle and Travis Head on Test duties however, the Thunder have the form and confidence on the board to make it three wins on the trot.

Thunder to win.

Can Adelaide steal Sydney’s thunder or will Khawaja and company put the Strikers to the sword in Canberra? Join The Roar for live scores and a blog of the match from 6:10pm (AEDT).


Game information

First ball: 6:10pm (AEDT)
Venue: Manuka Oval
TV: Fox Cricket
Online: Kayo Sports, Foxtel GO
Odds: Thunder $2.00, Strikers $1.80


Phil Salt, Matt Short, Billy Stanlake, Harry Nielsen, Alex Carey, Cameron Valente, Cameron White, Liam O’Connor, Harry Conway, Rashid Khan, Michael Neser, Wes Agar, Jake Weatherald, Jon Wells, Jake Lehmann, Travis Head, Nick Winter, Peter Siddle

Callum Ferguson (c), Jonathan Cook, Oliver Davies, Matthew Gilkes, Chris Green, Alex Hales, Usman Khawaja, Jay Lenton, Nathan McAndrew, Chris Morris, Arjun Nair, Alex Ross, Daniel Sams, Gurinder Sandhu, Jason Sangha, Chris Tremain

Hide Preview