The Roar
The Roar

:(

This video has expired

What does this mean?

Joe Root fires back over controversial catch

England captain Joe Root was at the centre of much controversy late on Day 5 of the second Ashes Test.

Australia looked to have halted the home side’s momentum with Marnus Labuschagne and Travis Head at the crease, until an unlucky ricochet off a nearby fielder saw Root pounce.

Though Root quickly celebrated and claimed a catch, officials sent the decision to the third umpire Joel Wilson with a soft signal of out and things quickly became tricky.

While one angle suggested the ball may have clipped grass prior to Root getting his hands on it, another indicated the catch was fine.

Wilson eventually confirmed Root’s effort to have resulted in a catch, bringing Labuschagne’s innings to an end on 59.

However, the right-hander was clearly unhappy with the call, having an exchange with Root as he made his way off the field.

Despite the nerves that followed, the Aussies would hold on to draw the Test and retain their 1-0 series lead.

In his post-match press conference, Root defended his catch, saying it was disappointing to have his character questioned.

Labuschagne had entered the game on Day 5, becoming Test cricket’s first-ever concussion substitute under new rules brought in this month, after Steve Smith was withdrawn following a nasty blow to the neck on Day 4.

Up Next