WATCH: Unique dismissal has cricket nerds reaching for law book
A head-scratcher… A dismissal in a second-division game between Shanklin & Godshill CC and Portsmouth & Southsea CC in the Hampshire Cricket League went viral as cricket aficionados tried to work out whether the Portsmouth batter Seb Egerton-Read should’ve been out.
People online pointed to Law 31.7 stating: “An umpire shall intervene if satisfied that a batter, not having been given out, has left the wicket under a misapprehension of being out. The umpire intervening shall call and signal dead ball to prevent any further action by the fielding side and shall recall the batter.”
However, it was noted that the dead ball only applies when the umpire signals so, not simply because the batter walked – meaning the ball was still live.
A couple of enquiries have come our way regarding this.
If the batter is leaving his wicket under a misapprehension of being out, the ball remains live until an umpire calls Dead ball. It doesn't become dead just because he left the wicket. (1/2)#MCCLaws https://t.co/UHKwYljUvd
— Marylebone Cricket Club (@MCCOfficial) May 16, 2022