The Roar
The Roar


Cricket World Cup ladder and standings 2023

Josh Hazlewood and Pat Cummins (Photo by SAEED KHAN/AFP via Getty Images)

The 2023 Cricket World Cup ladder determined which four of the ten competing teams will make it through to the semi-final stage of the tournament, and then on to the final.

The tournament’s new format will see ten teams battle it out in a round-robin tournament, with each team to play nine games, making for a total of 45 matches, plus two semi-finals and a final.

Two of those teams will be determined after the ongoing 2023 World Cup qualifying tournament. 1996 champions Sri Lanka successfully qualified through that competition, but 1975 and 1979 champions the West Indies failed to do so for the first World Cup in history after losses to Zimbabwe, the Netherlands and Scotland.

The other qualifier was the Netherlands, who defeated Scotland in what was effectively a play-off game to reach their first World Cup since 2011.

You can find a full fixture list here.

2023 Cricket World Cup ladder

Pos. Club W L T NR NRR Points
1st India 9 0 0 +2.570 18
2nd South Africa 7 2 0 +1.261 14
3rd Australia 7 2 0 +0.841 14
4th New Zealand 5 4 0 +0.743 10
5th Pakistan 4 5 0 -0.199 8
6th Afghanistan 4 5 0 -0.336 8
7th England 3 6 0 -0.572 6
8th Bangladesh 2 7 0 -1.087 4
9th Sri Lanka 2 7 0 -1.419 4
10th Netherlands 2 7 0 -1.825 4

Cricket World Cup ladder explained
The Cricket World Cup ladder will award points based on results in matches throughout the tournament, with net run rate to be used as a tiebreaker, should two teams be tied after the round robin stages.

Like the 2019 edition, there are no groups here splitting the tournament, so everyone will get to play everyone over the course of just over a month.

Points are awarded as follows:
Win: 2 points
Loss: 0 points
Tie: 1 point
No Result: 1 point

Note here that a no result refers to a match where both teams didn’t have the opportunity to bat at least 15 of their allotted 50 overs due to weather or other unforeseen circumstances.

In ODI matches, 15 is the minimum amount of overs to constitute a game.

Ties will also be extremely rare, due to the addition of super overs, where teams will have a further six balls each in the case of being tied after 50. Whichever team scores the most runs in the super over, wins the game.

How is Net Run Rate calculated?
Net run rate is the tiebreaker used if teams are tied on points.


It’s calculated through, as the name might suggest, run rate, but takes into account both sides batting and bowling.

Essentially, the figure spit out will be found by subtracting the opponents’ run rate from the team’s run rate, meaning a victory will give a positive figure, and a loss will be negative.

Across the entire tournament, it’s calculated by total runs scored divided by total overs faced, then subtracting the opponents’ total runs scored by total overs faced from that first calculation.

For example, a team scoring 500 runs in 100 overs across two matches would give a run rate of five. If the opposition scored 400 runs in the same amount of overs, the net run rate would be exactly +2.00.

Who makes the finals?
The top four teams will qualify for the finals, with a straight knockout semi-final, then the final to decide the champions.

This is a change from the 2015 tournament, when a group structure and more teams allowed the top eight teams to make the finals with quarter-finals also included.

As is the case with most major sporting competitions around the world, semi-finals will see the top-ranked team at the end of the round robin take on the fourth-ranked team, while second and third will play off for the other spot in the decider, to be held at Lord’s on Sunday, July 14.