The Roar
The Roar


2020 Spring Classics

Riders power to the finish line. (Photo by Jeff PACHOUD / AFP)

The Spring Classics are a series of professional one-day cycling races held throughout Western Europe in March and April and are some of the oldest races in the history of cycling, with some races dating back to the 19th century. While the Spring Classics stand as valued professional races in their own right, they also serve as preparation for the Giro d’Italia and Tour de France races that follow.

The Spring Classic seasons begins in Italy with the Milan-San Remo, usually held on the first Sunday in Spring. The majority of the Spring Classics are raced in Belgium including the Ronde van Vlaanderen (Tour of Flanders), La Fleche Wallonne, E3 Harelbeke with the Liège–Bastogne–Liège concluding the Spring Classics season. France’s Paris–Roubaix (Hell of the North) and The Netherlands’ Amstel Gold Race make up the other Spring Classic races.

Four of these races – Milan-San Remo, Tour of Flanders, Paris-Roubaix and Liege-Bastogne-Liege – in addition with the Giro di Lombardia, held in October, make up the ‘Five Monuments’. The Five Monuments are the most historic and prestigious of the Spring Classics. Only three riders – Roger De Vlaeminck, Rik Van Looy and Eddy Merckx – have won all five ‘Monument’ races.

2020 Spring Classics:

Date Race Broadcast
Sat Feb 29 Omloop Het Nieuwsblad (Belgium) Eurosport
Sun Mar 1 Kuurne-Brussels-Kuurne (Belgium) Eurosport
Sat Mar 7 Strade Bianche (Italy) Eurosport
Sat Mar 21 Milan-San Remo (Italy) Eurosport
Fri Mar 27 E3 Harelbeke (Belgium) Eurosport
Sun Mar 29 Gent-Wevelgem (Belgium) Eurosport
Wed Apr 1 Dwars Door Vlaanderen (Belgium) Eurosport
Sun Apr 5 Tour of Flanders (Belgium) Eurosport
Wed Apr 8 Scheldeprijs (Belgium) Eurosport
Sun Apr 12 Paris-Roubaix (France) Eurosport
Wed Apr 15 Brabantse Pijl (Belgium) Eurosport
Sun Apr 19 Amstel Gold (Netherlands) Eurosport
Mon Apr 20 Tro-Bro Leon (France) Eurosport
Wed Apr 22 Fleche Wallonne (Belgium) Eurosport
Sun Apr 26 Liege-Bastogne-Liege (Belgium) Eurosport
Sun Oct 11 Giro di Lombardia (Italy) Eurosport

More Cycling content