The Roar
The Roar

Advertisement

Vuelta a Espana 2021

(Photo by David Ramos/Getty Images)

The 2021 Vuelta a Espena ran from Saturday, August 14 until Sunday, September 5.

The Vuelta a Espana is one of professional cycling’s three Grand Tour races, alongside the Tour de France and Giro d’Italia.

Slovenia’s Primoz Roglic – who was also coming off a gold medal in the road time trial at the Tokyo Olympics – made it three Vuelta victories in a row.

Australia’s Jack Haig managed to finish third, while compatriot Michael Storer was took out the King of the Mountains title.

The youngest of cycling’s Grand Tours, the Vuelta a Espana was first raced in 1935, but took another 20 years to really establish itself as a serious tour. Like the other tours, it is comprises 21 stages, raced across 23 days.

The tour always takes riders through the Pyrenees mountains and usually finishes in the Spanish capital of Madrid.

Spaniard Roberto Heras holds the record for the most Vuelta victories, with four.

2021 Vuelta a Espana route

Stage Date Course Distance Stage Type
1 Sat Aug 14 Burgos to Burgos 8 km Individual time trial
2 Sun Aug 15 Caleruega to Burgos 169.5 km Flat
3 Mon Aug 16 Santo Domingo de Silos to Picón Blanco 203 km Medium mountain
4 Tue Aug 17 El Burgo de Osma to Molina de Aragón 163.6 km Flat
5 Wed Aug 18 Tarancón to Albacete 184.4 km Flat
6 Thu Aug 19 Requena to Alto de Cullera 159 km Flat
7 Fri Aug 20 Gandía to Balcón de Alicante 152 km Mountain
8 Sat Aug 21 Santa Pola to La Manga del Mar Menor 163.3 km Flat
9 Sun Aug 22 Puerto Lumbreras to Alto de Velefique 187.8 km Mountain
Mon Aug 23 Rest day
10 Tue Aug 24 Roquetas de Mar to Rincón de la Victoria 190.2 km Hilly
11 Wed Aug 25 Antequera to Valdepeñas de Jaén 131.6 km Hilly
12 Thu Aug 26 Jaén to Córdoba 166.7 km Hilly
13 Fri Aug 27 Belmez to Villanueva de la Serena 197.2 km Flat
14 Sat Aug 28 Don Benito to Pico Villuercas 159.7 km Mountain
15 Sun Aug 29 Navalmoral de la Mata to El Barraco 193.4 km Mountain
Mon Aug 30 Rest day
16 Tue Aug 31 Laredo to Santa Cruz de Bezana 170.8 km Flat
17 Wed Sep 1 Unquera to Lagos de Covadonga 181.6 km Mountain
18 Thu Sep 2 Salas to Alto de Gamoniteiru 159.2 km Mountain
19 Fri Sep 3 Tapia to Monforte de Lemos 187.8 km Hilly
20 Sat Sep 4 Sanxenxo to Mos 173.6 km Medium mountain
21 Sun Sep 5 Padrón to Santiago de Compostela 33.7 km Individual time trial
Advertisement

More Cycling content

close