A-League ladder

The 2016-17 A-League Ladder is live, with the A-League season due to kick off on October 7. Here you will find all the latest standings and points for your A-League team.


A-League Ladder Explained
The current system sees each team play each other three times equaling a 27-game season. A win gets you three premiership points, a draw gets you one, and you get nothing for a loss. The team that finishes on top of the ladder is crowned the A-League Premiers.

The season culminates in a finals series, contested by the top six teams at the end of the regular season. The top two teams receive byes into the semi-finals, so the first week has the team that finished third playing the team that finished sixth, and the team that finished fourth playing the team that finished fifth.

The finals is played over three stages, with each match winner progressing to the next stage, eventually leading to the Grand Final between the two remaining teams. The main goal for every club is the A-League Grand Final, where the winner is crowned A-League Champion and receives a place in the AFC Asian Champions League. The highest-ranking side from the regular season in the Grand Final gets to host the season’s finale.

2016-17 A-League ladder

Our A-League ladder is down at the moment. We’re working to get it up again as soon as possible

A-League Ladder History

Melbourne Victory has finished premiers the most times (three) and have appeared in the most grand finals (four).

The Western Sydney Wanderers and Perth Glory have both failed to win a grand final despite both boasting appearances in the season decider.

While the A-League season only has 27 rounds, teams can play a great many more fixtures if they play finals football and make a run in one (or more) of the cup competitions on offer for Australian sides. If a team was to win the FFA Cup, Asian Champions League, Premier’s Plate and Grand Final, they would play 46 games in that season.

Last updated: 11 November, 2016

Have Your Say

If not logged in, please enter your name and email before submitting your comment. Please review our comments policy before posting on the Roar.