Melbourne City

Melbourne-City-FC-logo-badge-crest-600wMelbourne City were introduced into the A-League for season 2010/11 as a rival club for Melbourne Victory, although they were originally known as Melbourne Heart.

Despite the club finishing in the lower half of the competition, their inaugural season was a success due to solid crowd attendances and the forging of an exciting rivalry with the Victory. The Heart rebranded to Melbourne City in June of 2014 following a takeover by the group which owns English Premier League giant Manchester City, and are now coached by John Van’t Schip.

City had quite a successful season in 2015-16, finishing just five points off the top ladder position led by the outstanding play of Socceroos midfielder Aaron Mooy and Uruguayan striker Bruno Fornaroli, who took home the golden boot award with 23 goals for the season. Unfortunately for City, their strong form didn’t continue into the post-season, as they were dispatched 4-1 by Adelaide United in their semi-final.

With Mooy now playing in England, City pulled off a major coup by announcing the signing of Aussie legend Tim Cahill for the 2016-17 season.

2015-16 season: 5th, lost in semi-finals

2016-17 squad: Thomas Sorensen, Dean Bouzanis, Ivan Franjic, Connor Chapman, Osama Malik, Manny Muscat, Ruon Tongyik, Josh Rose, Paulo Retre, Anthony Caceres, Daniel Arzani, Luke Brattan, Neil Kilkenny, Bruno Fornaroli, Corey Gameiro, Steve Kuzmanovski, Nick Fitzgerald, Bruce Kamau, Fernando Brandan, Tim Cahill.

Coach: John Van’t Schip

The full 2016-17 A-League draw can be found here.

Think you know your A-League? Test your skills in our tipping competition.

Last updated: 22 September, 2016