Melbourne Victory

Melbourne VictoryFounded in 2004, Melbourne Victory claimed their first championship in the 2006-07 season after defeating Adelaide United 6-0 in the Grand Final. Archie Thompson was the hero, scoring five goals.

Following on from that success, the Victory became the first A-League club to win the Premiership-Championship double in 2008-09. After a fifth-placed finish in 2009-10 Melbourne Victory underwent a transitional period that saw the departure of foundation coach Ernie Merrick, with the club unsuccessfully appointing a number of coaches to try and restore the Victory to the top of the table.

The signing of Ange Postecoglou put the Victory on the right path, before his ascension to the Socceroos job paved the way for Kevin Muscat to take the reigns. In Muscat’s first season in 2014-15, the Victory claimed their third Championship by defeating Sydney FC 3-0 in the Grand Final. The club also won its maiden FFA Cup title in 2015.

The club was unable to replicate that success in 2015-16, just scraping into the finals in sixth position before bombing out against the Brisbane Roar in their elimination final, 2-1.

2015-16 season: 6th, lost in elimination finals

2016-17 squad: Lawrence Thomas, Lucas Spinella, Jason Geria, Scott Galloway, Nick Ansell, Daniel Georgievski, Alan Baro, James Donachie, Thomas Deng, Leigh Broxham, Oliver Bozanic, Rashid Mahazi, Carl Valeri, Stefan Nigro, Marco Rojas, Besart Berisha, James Troisi, Mitch Austin, Fahid Ben Khalfallah, George Howard, Jai Ingham

Coach: Kevin Muscat

The full 2016-17 A-League draw can be found here.

Think you know your A-League? Test your skills in our tipping competition.

Last updated: 22 September, 2016