The Roar
The Roar


2021 AFC Asian Champions League draw

Milos Ninkovic. (Photo by Matt King/Getty Images)

The 2021 AFC Asian Champions League runs from Wednesday, April 14 and concludes with the final on Saturday, November 27

You can view the AFC Champions League draw for the Australian sides competing below. This year, Sydney FC are representing the A-League in the Champions League, while Melbourne City and Brisbane Roar are attempting to qualify through the preliminary rounds.

The AFC Champions League is an annual competition played between the best Football clubs in Asia, with the majority of clubs qualifying via elite performance in their own national leagues.

Following a similar format to the UEFA Champions League, qualifying playoffs take place earlier in the year, with a final field of 40 teams decided closer to the start of the group stage.

Teams are split into ten groups of four and play home and away legs against the other sides in their group.

The top team in each group progresses to the knockout stage, alongside the three best runners-up from each division, comprising a round of 16, quarter-finals, semi-finals and, ultimately, the final.

Finals matches are also played over two legs.

2021 AFC Asian Champions League groups

East Division West Division
Group A Group F
AGMK (Uzbekistan) BG Pathum United (Thailand)
Al-Hilal (Saudi Arabia) Ulsan Hyundai (South Korea)
Istiklol (Tajikistan) Viettel (Vietnam)
Shabab Al-Ahli (UAE) TBC
Group B Group G
Al-Quwa Al-Jawiya (Iraq) Johor Darul Ta’zim (Malaysia)
Pakhtakor (Uzbekistan) Nagoya Grampus (Japan)
Sharjah (UAE) Pohang Steelers (South Korea)
Tractor (Iran) Ratchaburi Mitr Phol (Thailand)
Group C Group H
Al-Ahli (Saudi Arabia) Gamba Osaka (Japan)
Al-Duhail (Qatar) Jeonbuk Hyundai Motors (South Korea)
Al-Shorta (Iraq) TBC
Esteghlal (Iran) Tampines Rovers (Singapore)
Group D Group I
Al-Nassr (Saudi Arabia) Beijing Guoan (China)
Al-Sadd (Qatar) Kawasaki Frontale (Japan)
Al-Wehdat (Jordan) United City (Philippines)
Foolad (Iran) TBC
Group E Group J
Al-Rayyan (Qatar) Guangzhou (China)
Al-Wahda (UAE) Kitchee (Hong Kong)
Goa (India) Port (Thailand)
Persepolis (Iran) TBC

2021 AFC Asian Champions League Australian team draws

All times are AEST/AEDT – Sydney/Melbourne time

Sydney FC ACL draw

Date Time Opponent Venue

Knockout stages

Round of 16

Fixture Date Result


Fixture Date Result



Fixture Date Result


Fixture Date Result

More Football content