The Roar
The Roar


Melbourne Cup schedule 2019: Start time for every race

Cross Counter has won the 2018 Melbourne Cup. (Photo: Brett Holburt/Racing Photos via Getty Images)

Melbourne Cup Day will be held held on the first Tuesday in November, which, in 2019, will be November 5.

As always, the headline event of the day will be the Melbourne Cup itself, however, there are ten races typically scheduled across the course of the day, with a handful of them being Group 1 events.

The Melbourne Cup is the richest two-mile handicap race in the world and the biggest event on Australia’s racing calendar. A total prize money pool of $7.3 million goes on the line in the big race.

You can catch all the racing action on the big day with highlights, live updates and results on The Roar.

While the Melbourne Cup schedule for 2019 is yet to be officially released, it’s expected the day’s proceedings should start with the first race at around 11am (AEDT).

Races will then continue throughout the day at roughly 40-minute intervals, with a longer break before the Melbourne Cup, which is normally Race 7, to allow for the introduction of the 24 jockeys and horses who will compete for the Cup.

The 2019 Melbourne Cup schedule, when it’s officially released, will be found below. Keep checking back to this page to see when it becomes officially released.

As the overall structure of the day doesn’t change too much year on year, in the meantime, you can check back to the 2018 schedule below.

2018 Melbourne Cup start time, race schedule

Race No. Time (AEDT) Race Distance Prize money
1 10:50am Bumble Stakes 1000m $150,000
2 11:30am Tab App Trophy 1700m $120,000
3 12:05pm Grinders Coffee Roasters Trophy 1400m $120,000
4 12:40pm Ronald McDonald House Charities Plate 2800m $120,000
5 1:15pm Schweppes Flemington Fling 1000m $120,000
6 1:50pm Jim Beam Black Stakes 1400m $150,000
7 3:00pm Melbourne Cup 3200m $7,300,000
8 4:05pm Furphy Plate 1800m $150,000
9 4:45pm MSS Security Sprint 1200m $150,000
10 5:20pm The Hong Kong Jockey Club Stakes 1400m $200,000

The Roar makes every attempt to ensure that our information is accurate and up-to-date. However, we do advise that you check the official copy of the schedule closer to the day to make sure you don’t miss out on anything.

More Racing content