The Roar
The Roar


Melbourne Cup 2023 final field: Every horse, every barrier

Mark Zahra riding #1 Gold Trip wins race seven, the Lexus Melbourne Cup during 2022 Melbourne Cup Day at Flemington Racecourse on November 01, 2022 in Melbourne, Australia. (Photo by Quinn Rooney/Getty Images)

The 2023 Melbourne Cup was run at 3pm on Tuesday, November 7.

The race was won by Without A Fight for trainers Anthony and Sam Freedman and ridden by jockey Mark Zahra for his second consecutive Cup win, having also won in 2022 on Gold Trip.

2023 Melbourne Cup final field

The 2023 Melbourne Cup field was locked in following the barrier draw on Saturday, with the race set to get underway at 3pm (AEDT) on Tuesday, November 7 at the Flemington Racecourse.

The field came down to 23 after Cleveland was withdrawn with an elevated temperature, while the Damien Oliver-ridden Alenquer was in doubt with a stone bruise but recovered in time to race.

They will traverse a distance of 3,200 metres for Australia’s most coveted racing trophy.

2023 Melbourne Cup full field

No. Horse Trainer Jockey Sex Age Weight Gate no.
1 Gold Trip (FR) Ciaron Maher & David Eustace James McDonald S 7 58.5kg 2
2 Alenquer (FRA) Michael Moroney Damien Oliver G 6 56.5kg 9
3 Without a Fight (IRE) Anthony & Sam Freedman Mark Zahra G 7 56.5kg 16
4 Breakup (JPN) Tatsuya Yoshioka Kohei Matsuyama S 6 55kg 18
5 Vauban (FRA) Willie Mullins Ryan Moore G 6 55kg 3
6 Soulcombe (GBR) Chris Waller Joao Moreira G 5 53.5kg 4
7 Absurde (FRA) Willie Mullins Zac Purton G 6 53kg 8
8 Right You Are Ciaron Maher & David Eustace John Allen G 7 53kg 15
9 Vow and Declare Danny O’Brien Billy Egan G 8 53kg 19
10 Cleveland (IRE) SCRATCHED Kris Lees Michael Dee S 6 52kg 23
11 Ashrun (FRA) Ciaron Maher & David Eustace Kerrin McEvoy G 8 51.5kg 11
12 Daqiansweet Junior (NZ) Phillip Stokes Daniel Stackhouse G 6 51.5kg 12
13 Okita Soushi (IRE) Joseph O’Brien Dylan Gibbons S 6 51.5kg 20
14 Sheraz (FRA) Chris Waller Beau Mertens G 7 51.5kg 22
15 Lastotchka (FRA) Mick Price & Michael Kent Jr Craig Williams M 5 51kg 21
16 Magical Lagoon (IRE) Bjorn Baker Ms Rachel King M 5 51kg 7
17 Military Mission (IRE) Gai Waterhouse & Adrian Bott Rachel King G 6 51kg 5
18 Serpentine (IRE) Gai Waterhouse & Adrian Bott Jye McNeil G 7 51kg 1
19 Virtuous Circle (NZ) Liam Howley Craig Newitt S 4 51kg 6
20 More Felons (IRE) Chris Waller Jamie Kah G 5 50.5kg 24
21 Future History (GBR) Ciaron Maher & David Eustace Hollie Doyle G 6 50kg 13
22 Interpretation (IRE) Ciaron Maher & David Eustace Teo Nugent G 6 50kg 17
23 Kalapour (IRE) Kris Lees Zac Lloyd G 7 50kg 14
24 True Marvel (FRA) Matthew Smith Ben Thompson G 8 50kg 10

More Racing content