The Roar
The Roar


Melbourne Cup schedule 2021: Start time for every race

(Photo by Darrian Traynor/Getty Images for the VRC)

The Melbourne Cup is held on the first Tuesday in November, which, in 2021, was November 2. You can find the full race schedule here.

As always, the headline event of the day is the Melbourne Cup itself, however, there are ten races scheduled across the course of the day, with a handful of them being Group 1 events.

The Melbourne Cup is the richest two-mile handicap race in the world and the biggest event on Australia’s racing calendar. A total prize money pool of $7.75 million goes on the line in the big race.

You can catch all the racing action on the big day with highlights, live updates and results on The Roar.

Races continue throughout the day at roughly 40-minute intervals, with a longer break before the Melbourne Cup to allow for the introduction of the 24 jockeys and horses who will compete for the Cup.

2021 Melbourne Cup Race Schedule

All times are for Sydney/Melbourne

Race No. Time (AEDT) Race Distance
1 10:45am Darley Maribyrnong Plate 1000m
2 11:20am The Macca’s Run 2800m
3 12pm Resimax Group Subzero Handicap 1400m
4 12:40pm Furphy Plate 1800m
5 1:20pm Grinders Coffee Roasters Trophy 1400m
6 1:55pm The Schweppervescence Plate 1000m
7 3pm Lexus Melbourne Cup 3200m
8 4pm The Hong Kong Jockey Club Stake 1400m
9 4:40pm TAB Trophy 1800m
10 5:15pm MSS Security Sprint 1200m

The Roar makes every attempt to ensure that our information is accurate and up-to-date. However, we do advise that you check the official copy of the schedule closer to the day to make sure you don’t miss out on anything.


More Racing content