The Roar
The Roar


MotoGP 2022 race calendar

(Gold & Goose/Red Bull Content Pool)

The 2022 MotoGP season calendar has been announced and will see 21 rounds run between March and November 2022. The season will see races in 16 different countries, including two brand new venues in Indonesia and Finland.

In 2021, French rider Fabio Quartararo won the Rider’s Title while Ducati won the Manufacturer’s Championship and the Ducati Lenovo Team won the Team title.

Road Racing World Championship Grand Prix is the premier championship of motorcycle racing. It is divided into three classes. MotoGP, Moto2 and Moto3. Since 2012, the engine capacity of the bikes has been 1000cc, meaning the monster bikes reach speeds of up to 350km/h.

The record for most titles won by a MotoGP racer is held by Italian Giacomo Agostini, who won 15 MotoGP titles between 1966-75. He won eight titles in the 500cc category and seven in the 350cc category.

Since its inception in 1949, Italian drivers have won the most World Championships with 75, while the United Kingdom is behind them with 44.

Australia is sixth in the combined rankings winning a total of 11 World Championships. One of the most famous Australian riders was Mick Doohan, who won five MotoGP Championships between 1994 and 1998.

2022 MotoGP Grand Prix

Round Date Grand Prix Circuit
1 March 6 Qatar Grand Prix Losail International Circuit
2 March 20 Indonesia Grand Prix Mandalika International Street Circuit
3 April 3 Argentina Grand Prix Termas de Río Hondo
4 April 10 Americas Grand Prix Circuit of the Americas, Texas
5 April 24 Portugal Grand Prix Algarve International Circuit
6 May 1 Spain Grand Prix Circuito de Jerez – Ángel Nieto
7 May 15 France Grand Prix Le Mans
8 May 29 Italy Grand Prix Autodromo Del Mugello
9 June 5 Catalunya Grand Prix Circuit De Barcelona Catalunya
10 June 19 Germany Grand Prix Sachsenring
11 June 26 Netherlands Grand Prix TT Circuit Assen
12 July 10 Finland Grand Prix Kymiring
13 August 7 Great Britain Grand Prix Silverstone Circuit
14 August 21 Austria Grand Prix Red Bull Ring Spielberg
15 September 4 San Marion Grand Prix Misano World Circuit, Marco Simoncelli
16 September 18 Aragón Grand Prix Motorland Aragón
17 September 25 Japan Grand Prix Twin Ring Motegi
18 October 2 Thailand Grand Prix Chang International Circuit
19 October 16 Australia Grand Prix Phillip Island
20 October 23 Malaysia Grand Prix Sepang International Circuit
21 November 6 Comunitat Valencia Grand Prix Circuito Ricardo Tormo

More Motorsport content