The Roar
The Roar


Mexican Grand Prix: Formula One live race updates, blog

Autoplay in... 6 (Cancel)
Up Next No more videos! Playlist is empty -
Roar Guru
7th November, 2021

Show Preview

The Mexican Grand Prix was a casualty of the COVID-impacted 2020 calendar, and is a welcome return in this fascinating 2021 title race between Max Verstappen and Lewis Hamilton. Join The Roar for a live blog of all the action from 6am (AEDT).

From the passion of the crowd in Texas, to the roaring adoration for Sergio Perez, Formula One has been given an overwhelming reception upon its return to the bustling Mexico City.

12-points is the difference between the protagonists coming into the eighteenth round of the championship and the 4.3km high-altitude circuit is one that favours the performance from the Red Bull.

Verstappen won back-to-back races here in 2017 and 2018, while Hamilton secured victory en route to his sixth title in 2019. However, there is an expectation for the home crowd favourite in Perez to take what would be a magical win on home soil.

Qualifying however delivered a shock pole position for Valtteri Bottas, ahead of teammates Hamilton as Mercedes locked out the front-row of the grid. Verstappen heads up an all Red Bull second row, after a scrappy end to Q3.

The run into Turn 1 will be crucial, with such a long straight and the element of the slipstream set to play a key factor in seeing who will lead the race at the end of the first lap.

Strategy wise, with all the key contenders set to start of the medium tyre, it should be a straightforward one-stop race with a switch to the hard compound.

Elsewhere, Pierre Gasly has impressed with the speed of the AlphaTauri this weekend and has the chance to go best of the rest ahead of the Ferraris and sole McLaren of Daniel Ricciardo starting in the top ten.

Ricciardo’s teammate Lando Norris is one of four drivers starting from the back of the grid with power-unit penalties. Also at the rear will be Yuki Tsunoda, Esteban Ocon and Lance Stroll – who crashed in Q1 and could yet start from the pit lane.


Can Perez delight the adoring and partisan crowd at the end of the 71-lap Mexico City Grand Prix? Or will one of the title rivals come out ahead to aid their respective championship bids going into the clutch rounds.

For live blog coverage and updates of the Mexico City Grand Prix, please be sure to tune in on The Roar from 5:50am (AEDT) for what should be another epic race.

Race Information

Lights out: 6am (AEDT)
Venue: Autodromo Hermanos Rodriguez, Mexico City
TV: Fox Sports
Online: Kayo Sports, Foxtel GO


1. Valtteri Bottas (Mercedes), 2. Lewis Hamilton (Mercedes), 3. Max Verstappen (Red Bull), 4. Sergio Perez (Red Bull), 5. Pierre Gasly (AlphaTauri), 6. Carlos Sainz (Ferrari), 7. Daniel Ricciardo (McLaren), 8. Charles Leclerc (Ferrari), 9. Sebastian Vettel (Aston Martin), 10. Kimi Räikkönen (Alfa Romeo), 11. George Russell (Williams), 12. Antonio Giovinazzi (Alfa Romeo), 13. Fernando Alonso (Alpine), 14. Nicholas Latifi (Williams), 15. Mick Schumacher (Haas), 16. Nikita Mazepin (Haas), 17. Yuki Tsunoda (AlphaTauri), 18. Lando Norris (McLaren), 19. Esteban Ocon (Alpine), 20. Lance Stroll (Aston Martin)

Hide Preview