The Roar
The Roar


2019 Queensland Cup grand final final score, highlights: Wynnum Manly Seagulls vs Burleigh Bears

Autoplay in... 6 (Cancel)
Up Next No more videos! Playlist is empty -
Roar Guru
29th September, 2019
Final Score
Burleigh Bears vs Wynnum Manly Seagulls
28 10

Show Preview

The Burleigh Bears and the Wynnum Manly Seagulls will do battle for Queensland rugby league’s biggest prize. Join The Roar for live coverage from 3:15pm (AEST).

This year sees the Queensland Cup grand final return to Dolphin Oval in Redcliffe for the first time in 16 years.

While Lang Park is the spiritual home of Queensland rugby league, the newly refurbished Redcliffe ground should provide the grand final atmosphere that has been somewhat lacking recently in Brisbane (with the exception of the PNG Hunters’ famous win in 2017).

A sell-out crowd is expected for what is set be a great spectacle.

Wynnum Manly arrive off the back of an upset win over the Blackhawks up in Townsville last week.

The Bears likewise caused a surprise last, beating runaway minor premiers, the Sunshine Coast Falcons in a dominant 24-6 performance at Pizzey Park.

The Burleigh line-up is stacked with talent, most notably, the inclusion of Anthony Don and Tyronne Roberts-Davis in the backs.

The Bears will be looking for their second title under coach Jim Lenihan, who took the team to the 2016 premiership.

Seven members of that title-winning side will be on the field at Dolphin Oval.


Wynnum Manly, meanwhile, have enjoyed a remarkable run up to second on table this year, following three lean years out of the finals between 2016-2018.

The once-proud club last tasted success under the stewardship of Paul Green back in 2011-12, but have endured a lean run since then.

They will face a tough task, though, against a Bears side that has had the wood over the Seagulls in their last five encounters.

The two sides most recently met in the first week of the finals series, with the Bears tasting victory in a high-scoring 34-32 encounter at the BMD Kougari Oval.

Burleigh have too much class in the backs, too much experience in the forwards, and should account for a spirited Seagulls side.

Bears by 8.

Kick-off: 3:15pm (AEST)
Venue: Dolphin Oval, Redcliffe
TV: Live, Nine Network (Queensland)
Online: Live, 9Now
Betting: Bears $1.55, Seagulls $2.45
Last meeting: Qualifying Final, Bears 34 defeated Seagulls 32 at Kougari Oval
Referees: Liam Kennedy, Tyson Brough
Touch Judges: Jarrod Cole, Jacob Whitehouse
Video Referees: Clayton Sharpe, Tim Whitehouse

Burleigh Bears
1. Kurtis Rowe 2. Tyronne Roberts-Davis 3. Sami Sauiluma 4. Josh Berkers 5. Anthony Don 6. Dylan Phythian 7. Jamal Fogarty 8 Luke Page (c) 9. Pat Politoni 10. Jack Buchanan 11. Hayden Schwass 12. Blake Leary 13. Sam Coster


Interchange: 14. Matt Robinson 15. Josh Rogers 16. Oliver Percy 17. Api Noema-Matenga

Wynnum Manly Seagulls
1. Edene Gebbie 2. Edward Burns 3. Delouise Hoeter 4. Jordan Drew 5. Junior Pauga 6. Pat Templeman 7. Sam Scarlett 8. Aaron Rockley 9 Mitch Cronin (c) 10. Matthew Groat 11. Keenan Palasia 12. Alex Barr 13. Max Elliott
Interchange: 14. Jayden Berrell 15. Kelly Tate 16. Lachlan Lee 17. Kalolo Saitaua

Hide Preview