The Roar
The Roar


Dally M Medal 2020 live updates, blog: NRL votes, team of the year, awards

Autoplay in... 6 (Cancel)
Up Next No more videos! Playlist is empty -
19th October, 2020

Show Preview


Jack Wighton is the 2020 Dally M Medallist, beating out Nathan Cleary and Clint Gutherson to take home the award for the NRL’s player of the year.


Nathan Cleary is the red-hot favourite to take home the Dally M Medal, but could someone spoil the Panthers halfback’s party? Join The Roar for a live blog and updates of the 2020 Dally M Awards from 7:30pm (AEDT).

No Panther has won the NRL’s top individual honour since 1985 when Greg Alexander was awarded the prestigious medal, but Clearly looks set to break that trend tonight.

The young playmaker was just two points from the top of the leaderboard when voting went behind closed doors after Round 10, and given Penrith’s incredible run of form to end the year – and the role Cleary played in it – it would be an almighty upset if anyone else was to win the gong.

That being said, there are some other players right in the mix. Both Cameron Smith and Clint Gutherson were a point ahead of Cleary after Round 10, and while Gutherson’s Eels dropped off as the season progressed, their captain and fullback was their star performer right throughout 2020. Smith missed some time through injury, but when on the field consistently played at an exceptionally high level.

Harry Grant was atop the public leaderboard with 13 votes, one ahead of Smith and Gutherson and two in front of Cleary. The Tigers hooker recently picked up the RLPA Rookie of the Year and enjoyed a sensational year for the joint venture, but Wests’ poor form could see him tail away in later rounds.

Also up for grabs tonight are coach of the year, captain of the year and the Provan-Summons Medal for fan’s choice of player of the year. The 2020 NRL team of the year will have a diferent look to it, with a full side of 13 players named rather than just picking one prop, winger, centre and second-rower. Other awards that will be handed out tonight include female player of the year and the Peter Frilingos Memorial Award for headline moment of the year.


Tonight’s formalities will be an unusual affair, with the pandemic forcing the ceremony to be held at Fox Sports HQ. Some players will be on hand at the venue and others will call in via video link.

All the action gets underway at 7:30pm (AEDT), so be sure to tune into The Roar to see who takes home the 2020 Dally M Medal.

Dally M Awards information

Start time: 7:30pm (AEDT)
TV: Fox Sports
Live stream: Kayo Sports, Foxtel, NRL Live Pass
Odds: N/A

Dally M leaderboard

Harry Grant (Wests Tigers), 13
Cameron Smith (Melbourne Storm), 12
Clint Gutherson (Parramatta Eels), 12
Jason Taumalolo (North Queensland Cowboys), 11
Shaun Johnson (Cronulla-Sutherland Sharks), 11
Nathan Cleary (Penrith Panthers), 11
Jack Wighton (Canberra Raiders), 10
Benji Marshall (Wests Tigers), 9
Matthew Dufty (St George Illawarra Dragons), 9
Tom Trbojevic (Manly-Warringah Sea Eagles), 9
George Williams (Canberra Raiders), 8
James Tedesco (Sydney Roosters), 7
Apisai Koroisau (Penrith Panthers), 7
Cameron Munster (Melbourne Storm), 7
James Fisher-Harris (Penrith Panthers), 7
Luke Keary (Sydney Roosters), 7
Moeaki Fotuaika (Gold Coast Titans) 7
Ryan Papenhuyzen (Melbourne Storm), 7

Hide Preview