The Roar
The Roar


Dally M Medal 2021 live updates, blog: NRL votes, team of the year, awards

Autoplay in... 6 (Cancel)
Up Next No more videos! Playlist is empty -
Roar Guru
27th September, 2021

Show Preview


The NRL’s most prestigious gongs are up for grabs as the 2021 Dally M Awards arrive, with Tom Trbojevic the heavy favourite for the biggest honour of all. Join The Roar for a live blog and updates from 7:30pm (AEST).

Remarkably, despite missing the first five rounds of the season and playing just 15 of 24 home-and-away games, ‘Tommy Turbo’ is still widely tipped to claim the honour as the NRL’s best player – such was the extraordinary season he delivered.

An equal-Manly record 28 tries is the most eye-catching stat, but it was Trbojevic’s mere presence that had just as sizeable an impact, his return coinciding neatly with the Sea Eagles’ recovery from a 0-4 start to make it all the way to a preliminary final.

The 24-year old was one of five, however, unveiled as candidates for the Dally M in last week’s first medal ceremony, alongside teammate Daly Cherry-Evans, Panther Nathan Cleary, Roosters captain James Tedesco and Rabbitoh Cody Walker. Could any of them cause a major upset, as Jack Wighton did last year?

Cleary leads Trbojevic 24 points to 23 at the conclusion of Round 19, when the count was stopped last Monday night. That’s despite playing just once between Rounds 12 and 19 due to Origin commitments, the occasional rest and the shoulder injury that threatened to derail his season.

However, with the latter seeing him miss twice more before the year ended, and Trbojevic’s sensational form not slowing down in the least, it’s still clearly the Manly fullback’s medal to lose. Perhaps the only real question is whether Johnathan Thurston’s 36-point haul in 2007 is in any danger.

The Rookie of the Year award also promises to be interesting, with Rugby League Players Association winner Reece Walsh ruled ineligible due to twin suspensions through the season – not for his arrest and public admission to taking cocaine over the weekend, though that certainly can’t have helped. He won’t be attending the awards

With the Warriors young gun out of the running, Roosters 19-year old Sam Walker is the favourite to take out the award, having finished runner-up in the RLPA voting.


Also up for grabs tonight is the coach, captain and female player of the year, as well as the unveiling of the team of 2021.

Due to the COVID-19 pandemic, the event will take place at Brisbane’s Howard Smith Wharves, but will at least be an actual ceremony rather than last year’s offering, which was held in the Fox Sports studios due to restrictions.

All the action gets underway at 7:30pm (AEST), so be sure to tune into The Roar to see who takes home the 2020 Dally M Medal.

Dally M Awards information

Start time: 7:30pm (AEST)
TV: Fox League (502)
Live stream: Kayo Sports, Foxtel, NRL Live Pass
Odds: N/A

Hide Preview