The Roar
The Roar


Melbourne Storm

Melbourne StormThe Melbourne Storm became the first rugby league club to represent Victoria when they were introduced to the NRL in 1998. Melbourne have been incredibly successful during their short history, winning the premiership in their second season and missing the finals just three times. A famous salary cap scandal saw them stripped of two premierships and three minor premierships won in the late 2000s, but the Storm have won the premiership, fairly, twice more since that time.


It was an ominous display from the Melbourne Storm throughout 2017, finishing atop the ladder as minor premiers with three more wins than the second-placed Roosters. They overcame an early scare against Parramatta in the qualifying final, before strolling past Brisbane 30-0 in the preliminary final and crushing North Queensland 34-6 in the grand final to claim their third premiership.

Senior coach: Craig Bellamy
Captain: Cameron Smith
2017 finish: 1st
Premierships: 1999, 2012, 2017

Forgotten what happened last season? Review the 2017 NRL Grand Final and State of Origin with The Roar.

2018 Team List
Josh Addo-Carr, Nelson Asofa-Solomona, Jesse Bromwich, Kenneath Bromwich, Cheyse Blair, Will Chambers, Brodie Croft, Scott Drinkwater, Sandor Earl, Dale Finucane, Tim Glasby, Ryan Hoffman, Jahrome Hughes, Ryley Jacks, Tui Kamikamica, Sam Kasiano, Felise Kaufusi, Patrick Kaufusi, Vincent Leuluai, Cameron Munster, Justin Olam, Ryan Papenhuyzen, Curtis Scott, Brandon Smith, Cameron Smith, Billy Slater, Joe Stimson, Young Tonumaipea, Suliasi Vunivalu, Christian Welch

Think you know your rugby league? Prove yourself in our tipping competition.

Melbourne Storm NRL Rugby League Grand Final 2017

(AAP Image/David Moir)